Good controller for scratching and mixing (newbie)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Good controller for scratching and mixing (newbie)

Hi !

I have this problem that is keeping me from starting DJ'ing as a new hobby, for now. I got bitten by this bug that wants to not only listen to different house/techno songs, but to jam along and participate in mixing the song. Also I am really looking forward in starting to learn to scratch, as also being into hip-hop style of music. I've been playing guitar and drums for about 8 years so I think my sense of rhythm won't be a barrier.

First of, I have been looking for different MIDI controllers and even normal turntables, but haven't encountered one, that would fit my needs (as based on reviews). I have a quite small budget of about 700 euros and plan to use the software that comes with the hardware.

I got really hyped about the VCI-300 for it's large jog-wheels, and thought that I really wouldn't be needing different FX. I was literally minutes away from ordering it, but then noticed that Vestax informs that it's not recommended to use with AMD Turion 64 x2, which I unfortunately have. Pretty amazed that it is not really that noticeably informed around different distributors and reviews ?

Could you help me out and recommend any product that you think would suit my needs ?

Any help is appreciated !

Edit: Okay, i probably got this in the wrong section, but don't beat me for it !
    Last edited by Shapeshifter; 11-03-2009 at 03:52 PM.

ns7?

+1 on the ns7.
    i have the ns7 and i'm completely happy with it. its extremely responsive and extremely fun =D. serato also announced that all of its products will have some sort of functionality with Ableton coming soon. itch lacks a sampler (hopefully ableton will fix this), but i think its the best controller that can emulate turntables.
    its priced a little high and it doesnt come with any fx, but i still love it.