Have you taken your Traktor controllers to a club
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1

    Default Have you taken your Traktor controllers to a club

    the reason I ask is because Im planning to do a prom and wanted to know how the NI equipment did in a club environment. I plan on taking my laptop, F1 and X1 MK2 any relevent expierence setting up at a club would be helpful too.
    Numark 4 Trak | VCI-400 | Fostex PM0.3 Bookshelf Monitors | The Triple Threat NI-F1, N1-X1-MK2, NI-Z1 | Serato DJ/Flip

  2. #2
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    I used a S4 mk1 professionally for over 3 years, they are club worthy. In my case the setup was simply plug the master out to a spare mixer channel or use the balanced outs when connecting to a sound guy's mixing board.

    If you will be using only the F1 and X1 you'll need an external audio interface unless the club mixer's has one built into it.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    893

    Default

    I use an S2 Mk1 for my mobile gigs, and the occasional club (as a fill in for a friend).

    I keep connectors that can go from 1/4" balanced on the S2 into the common inputs on the club mixer (RCA, xlr, and 1/4" balanced). Odds are good that RCA is all you will need. If possible check the booth ahead of time and look at the connections you will need and the space that is available.

    I use a Crane Stand Pro for the laptop...it helps to minimize the overall table top space that I need. Space is at a premium in most booths, and the less you need the happier you will be.

    Keep some velcro wraps on hand to do some basic cable management in the booth AFTER you are setup. BEFORE you teardown, use the velcro to make a temporary cable snake and wrap up all your cables in one bundle. You can use that to experiment with at home later.

    Bring a power strip. You should be able to power everything in your setup with ONE (1) wall outlet in the booth.
    Denon X1600, NI X1 Mk1 & Mk2, MF Twister
    Kontrol S2, Maschine Mk1, APC 40
    Retired: VCI-100 Arcade (Signed #198/300))
    BFM 10x DR200 & 10x Titan 39

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    I used a S4 mk1 professionally for over 3 years, they are club worthy. In my case the setup was simply plug the master out to a spare mixer channel or use the balanced outs when connecting to a sound guy's mixing board.

    If you will be using only the F1 and X1 you'll need an external audio interface unless the club mixer's has one built into it.
    Cool, could I say use an Z1 to plug into the clubs mixer?
    Numark 4 Trak | VCI-400 | Fostex PM0.3 Bookshelf Monitors | The Triple Threat NI-F1, N1-X1-MK2, NI-Z1 | Serato DJ/Flip

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,345

    Default

    Prom ≠ Club
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Eliot Han's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Whenever I play out I only use X1's and the house mixer (Xone:92 preferred) ... never has been an issue, but also may depend on what type of scene you are involved in.

    ↯↯ OFFICIAL SITE // MY SETUP ↯↯

  7. #7
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bc6 View Post
    Cool, could I say use an Z1 to plug into the clubs mixer?
    Yeah, the Z1 has basically an Audio 2 in it. Plug the Master out to a free mixer channel and you are good to go

  8. #8
    Tech Guru calgarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,439

    Default

    thats what my X1 is for controll traktor without having to bring loads of gear with me . an X1 and an audio 2 DJ do the trick for most things. Leave my other gear at home

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,314

    Default

    X1's. Leave the rest of the toys at home.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    50

    Default

    i have taken my S2 to the club before, it works but prefer mixing on the clubs set up

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •