Music producing worths taking lessons?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Music producing worths taking lessons?

Hi, I have been DJing for only about 7 months and I wish to take myself to a new EDM level. The thing is, I don't know any basics of producing, and I wish to learn all the way to the level that it will only take my skills or preferences to create music. So I would have to learn all the basics and every aspects I need.

For the producers, did you learn by courses, your buds, or did you actually learn alone? I think it's pretty much impossible. Nobody would give you some expert lessons for for free on youtube or blog. So I am thinking about taking one (I know it's so pricey though). I live in SoCal, are there any DJs and producer communities or a reliable course? I mainly DJ the House (Electro, Deep house, others) and also Trance. I just wanna be a decent producer. The only thing I got now is the FL Studio Demo. I wish to upgrade everything including hardwares once I get into it.

Cheers!

Think it depends on what your time's worth and if you have the money sitting around to spend on that kind of course.

There are plenty of excellent videos that help with production, (even pro level - check out Pensado's Place on youtube for mixing tips once you have the basics down - maybe Pensando? Can't remember) but there are also a number of different aspects of production, which can make it overwhelming at first: sound design, effects, mixing, arrangement, etc. So, can you learn all these things without those courses? Yes, but it takes a good chunk of time. Can this "crash course" get you ahead of the curve? Yes, but is it worth it? And no matter which course of action you take, mixing and developing a critical ear just take time and practice. No course can teach you those things.
    2 x Technics 1210 MKII, Pioneer-DJM 900 Nexus, Traktor Scratch Pro, NI F1,