VJ'ing equipment and suggestions
    Tech Mentor

Default VJ'ing equipment and suggestions

hey there forum members,

I have been djing for 5 years. have tried my hand at production but I do not have the time to produce anything with school and jobs and djing so ive decided to venture into vj'ing. I do not need a projector or lights (as the venues ill be playing at either have monitors projectors all that etc) and I have a shit ton of short video clips and have the demo for Livid Cell DNA. considering buying the livid ohm rbg slim. just need some advice, personal experience, stuff like that

taylortailor
    NI traktor s4 / MF Classic / NI Maschine MK2 / Focusrite Scarlett / Novation Mininova / Novation Impulse 49 / Roland VT-3 / Akai xr-20

I dont have any VJ advice but my rgb slim is my baby. I think you will like it.

Tech Mentor

Livid Cell DNA isn't the best software to be honest. I would recommend Resolume Avenue, or VDMX. Resolume is great for starting out, it has a nice easy to understand layout, and quite a few tutorials available. VDMX is much more complex, but you can do a lot more with it. It is not so user friendly open up & go tho.

I recommend going to docoptic.com and watching the tutorials on there. also Zyper visuals on youtube.

When using Resolume it's important to convert all your videos to .DXV format. this offloads the decompression to your GPU instead of your CPU, something that's extremely useful when mixing multiple layers of HD video.
    If you use VDMX, or Modul8, you want to convert your videos to HAP format.

As for hardware. it's completely up to you. VJ software is completely MIDI mappable so any MIDI controllers work. Right now I use an APC40mk2 and MIDI Fighter 3D. but have seen people use Maschine, Livid OhmRGB, iPad with TouchOSC or Lemur.