Isolating instruments from a song
    Tech Convert

Default Isolating instruments from a song

Hi. I am just getting into mixing and DJing, and I am trying to get into remixing. (https://soundcloud.com/djnamixofficial not trying to advertise, but this is where I am right now). I want to remix, but I can't seem to figure out how to isolate different parts of songs. Most remixes out there remove certain instruments such as piano or drums from a song, and add their own synths or beats instead. I can easily add to tracks, but I don't know how to do remove certain elements.. I DJ with Traktor, and I am soon purchasing Logic Pro X.

Thanks!

You could do a mashup, and it sounds like that's what you're doing by adding. With Traktor you can't really remove specific instruments, only fairly large frequencies. To do a remix of the song, you typically want to get the stems - the audio wav files of each of the intstruments. You can then add/remove, etc. and make it your own. Much more difficult with a DJ rig.
    2 x Technics 1210 MKII, Pioneer-DJM 900 Nexus, Traktor Scratch Pro, NI F1,
    Ableton Live 9.6 Suite, Ableton Push, Studio One 3, Moog Sub37, Roland Alpha Juno 2, Korg MS-20 Mini, Yamaha TG-77, TR-8, Rhodes MKI Stage, Wurlitzer 200a, couple pedals, couple amps, lots of software and a freakin iPad

Tech Mentor

As ImNotDedYet already mentioned you will want to have the individual audio files for each track in order to remix the song. You can also use acapellas and (re)create your own drums/instruments. However doing a remix without either the full stems or the acapella is usually not worth it unless you are remixing a very minimal song and are happy to basically just add stuff.