mixer for cdj2000 nexus

Default mixer for cdj2000 nexus

Hello, I'm new to the forum. Also to the DJing world.

I'm thinking about buying two cdj2000 nexus players, however I'm pretty confused about the mixer. Do I need to buy a mixer from the NXS series as well to fully use the syncing ability between those 2 players? If I buy a cheaper mixer, not from the series, how will that work? For example the sync button? For now I can still afford those players, however an expensive mixer 'designed' for them is already too expensive for me.

Could anybody explain? I'm new to the DJ world and maybe some of you will tell me that I should buy something cheaper for a start, but I'm not new to the music world, I'm producing and designing sounds for years now, so please don't treat me as a total noob.
    Cheers

You don't need to buy a nexus series mixer. The nexus series mixer as well as the original DJM2000 have additional features when paired with either CDJ2000s or CDJ2000NXS players such as a link function, "on air" feature where the platters change colours when the fader is pushed up. The sync feature will work with any mixer as long as your CDJs are linked via a LAN cable, you can link up to 4 CDJs however with more than two you will need a network switch. If you don't want to spend "nexus" level money on a mixer, I would suggest checking out the DJM850. Very similar to the 900NXS and can be found for around $1200 new if you look hard enough. If you don't care about used you could grab a DJM800 for real cheap or try to find a used 900NXS for around $1200-$1600. Good luck !

Quote Originally Posted by monokei View Post
    Do I need to buy a mixer from the NXS series as well to fully use the syncing ability between those 2 players? If I buy a cheaper mixer, not from the series, how will that work? For example the sync button?
    For syncing between two CDJ's a you don't need a Pioneer mixer.