How do you design your synths in ableton?

Default How do you design your synths in ableton?

Hey guys! Im having a really hard time designing my own synths in ableton and was hoping i could get a few tips from you guys. Im fairly new to the production game so sorry if i dont get your terminologies sometimes. Thanks in advance!

Tech Mentor

At the beginning I wouldn't spend much time on sound design. Its a rabbit hole with a very steep learning curve. Use presets, nothing wrong with them, change some of the parameters if they sound too stock. But your main focus in production has to bee arrangement and actually finishing songs. Don't get to lost on the sounds, if it doesn't sound right in the first 5 minutes you have been messing with the parameters, chances are that your not going to arrive at anything with that sound.
    My tips for the order of things you should learn in the production game are:
    1) Arrangement
    2) Movement and anticipation
    3) Collecting a library of sounds, presets or whatever, but that you really know how they sound.
    4) Making drums sound really good( Most electronic music is drum driven so if you get this right you have 40% of your song done)

I would start with that, sound design is a different world, and you wont get songs done if you get too much time tweaking parameters you don't know what they are doing.

Hope this helps, cheers
    Producer & Dj from Buenos Aires, Argentina.
    Soft seared beats and smoked gritty basslines marinated with pads, served over home grown melodies and a pinch of salt.
    https://soundcloud.com/similian
    Subscribe to Similian Sound Tools mailing list and receive exclusive content!

Hey thanks for your time! I guess ill have a look through the folders in ableton. Also thanks for the bit of advice in making a composition!