Need your opinion...
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Need your opinion...

Hi everybody,

I need your opinion. I came from Europe where I used to DJ but not often, so I have some experience. Now I live in California. I'm interested in playing mostly House music, electro, deep whatever. What's the easiest way to get started where you don't have friends and don't know anybody? Can I just approach a Pub/Bar manager and ask for a gig? From your experience what's the easiest way to get started? Thanks!

U can easily ask anyone for a gig... But I'd be very sure I was ready to rock just in case they say yes.

Do u have equipment? Lots of good music? Confidence in your abilities to get in front of a crowd?

If so you should record a demo and then you can try to shop yourself to the local bars or whatever.. But I'd be prepared to get minimal or no compensation(payment) since you don't know anyone, and would have no draw.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu

Tech Wizard

I agree with what you said! Yes, I do have all of those things but still after reading various topic on the internet about how you need to spend night and days getting to know the place and the DJ before asking for a gig doesn't make me feel any better. I'm not that type of person who wants to do it this way. What I want is just to go and ask with no "foreplay".

BTW nowadays what's better to use CDJs or Traktor with controller for playing House music?

Quote Originally Posted by Deejaesnafu View Post
    U can easily ask anyone for a gig... But I'd be very sure I was ready to rock just in case they say yes.

Do u have equipment? Lots of good music? Confidence in your abilities to get in front of a crowd?

If so you should record a demo and then you can try to shop yourself to the local bars or whatever.. But I'd be prepared to get minimal or no compensation(payment) since you don't know anyone, and would have no draw.