Slicer Function: Why Is It So Hard For Traktor?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Slicer Function: Why Is It So Hard For Traktor?

Hi all, i'm a diehard traktor user because of all of its blatant superiorities in almost every facet of the wonderful program. However, recent developments are forcing me to consider other options, and honestly i don't want to do that.

I went over to do some tagging with my friend, he has the DDJ-SX, which i thought was a fairly nice piece of equipment, but nothing special. That is, until i started playing around with it and switched the pads to the slicer function. It blew my mind, its quite possibly the most utilizable live remixing function i've ever seen.

(Skip to 2:00, my timed link isnt working)

This was before Traktor 2.7 was released, so i googled it like mad and found out through Ryan Dejaegher's video (on a slicer workaround) that yes, traktor was going to be releasing this in a future update! I waited patiently for the update to arrive, and on the day of the release i spent hours mapping it to my QuNeo, only to discover that it doesn't work the same way.

Pioneer's slicer splits the phrase up into 8 parts, moves along them, and once it is at the 8th beat, it snaps over to the next 8 beats in the song, meaning you always have the current 8 beats available for slicing. It also cues up the buttons you press and makes sure that they are all in time; even if you hammer beat one 8 times in the space of 2 beats, it plays 8 instances of beat one all in sync.