Firmware FAQ and Upgrade Solutions
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 121
  1. #1
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Lightbulb Firmware FAQ and Upgrade Solutions

    FAQ

    How do I update my firmware?

    Please visit this post to learn how to update your firmware:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2008/08/1...-100-firmware/

    If you have problems please visit this thread:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...=7732#post7732


    Which firmware version does your VCi-100 have?
    Version 1.1
    the firmware with the "ramp up problem"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2Y509VQVEQ

    the jog wheel touch sensor turns off when the wheel stops turning, not when you release your finger.

    Version 1.2
    -VCI-100's with a green sticker on the back are firmware version 1.2
    - this version solved the ramp up problem but still has several bugs including
    * the fourth FX buttons send out the same midi message as the right headphone cue button.


    Version 1.3
    The firmware found in all VCi-100SE controllers that was designed by Ean Golden.

    You can tell if you have 1.3 by following these steps.

    1) connect your vci-100 to a computer but dont start traktor.

    2) Click the button that is at the top right hand corner of the left jog wheel (its next to the filter knob for deck A).

    3) If this button's light toggles on and off then you have 1.3 (the same button on the right deck will not toggle on and off.

    Here are a few of the changes made in 1.3

    general improvements:

    * Eliminated the problem where the 4th FX buttons trigger other buttons (cue)
    * added midi in functionality to the loop buttons
    * added a note on to the jog wheel in scroll mode

    performance:

    * turned the filter knobs into double knobs (0-127 on the left and right side)
    * added a "freeze function" to the bottom of each fader and top of the fx knobs. this sends out a 127 message only at the end of the movement
    * added inverted messages to the faders (this allows an effect to be turned on by turning the fader down- not possible otherwise)
    * added unique values to the FX buttons (these were used for direct FX selection- now added in Traktor Pro)


    Problems updating your firmware?

    first some basic rules:

    • serial to serial cables work perfectly and have reliable results (use one if you can!)
    • You must use a standard serial cable- not a null modem cable
    • serial to usb cables have very erratic results and cause problems (see bellow)
    • the com port your device is on needs to be between 2-8 (when using a USB)
    • follow the order of plugs and power very carefully




    Everything works but at the end you get the following message:

    Opening port 'COM3' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Error No 15060: Error while opening the port
    Error No 15026: Unable to open comms
    Error No 15061: Error while closing the port

    You have the wrong COM port selected. Each USB port has different COM address, so make sure you have the right one selected. COM 3 is usually a serial while 2, 4, 5 are usually one of the USB ports.


    Everything works but at the end you get the following message:

    OS: Windows XP [Admin]
    FDT API initialised: version 4, 02, 00, 008
    Clock Frequency (External) = 24.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM3'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM3' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Attempting 4800
    Attempting 2400
    Attempting 1200
    Error No 15024: Boot failed

    this seems to only be happening to people with a usb to serial cable. if at all possible try a different cable or use good old serial port on someones computer. There was a also a report that this error was corrected when making sure the firmware kit is seated completely down on the board. This requires removal of the harness next to the header so it can sit down completely.

    if you must use a USB to Serial, read this


    If you are using a USB serial cable plug it in to a USB port

    Now run device manager, if you don't know how to do this follow this link.

    [ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_Manager"]Device Manager - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia@@AMEPARAM@@/wiki/File:Vista_Device_Manager.png" class="image"><img alt="" src="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/d/d7/Vista_Device_Manager.png/220px-Vista_Device_Manager.png"@@AMEPARAM@@en/thumb/d/d7/Vista_Device_Manager.png/220px-Vista_Device_Manager.png[/ame]

    Now expand the ports branch,
    (See thumbnail 1)

    If you are using a built in serial port its is most likely assigned to COM 1,
    Check that there are no ports with the same number, if another device is assigned the same COM port number you will have to change it to use another number.

    If you are using a USB serial cable then it will appear in the list called something like "Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port", if you are confused about which one it is remove your USB-serial cable from the USB port, then you should see that device disappear from the Ports tree.

    Now right-click and open the properties of the Port you are using, and the click the port setting tab. (See thumbnail 2)

    Check that your settings are the same as in thumbnail 2. If they are not change them.

    Now if you need to change the serial port number click the advanced button. (See thumbnail 3)

    You can now change the Com port number that is assigned to the serial port in the drop down menu. Select a number in the range of 2 - 8 that is not in use.

    Click ok in the advanced settings window, then ok in the properties window.

    If you are using a USB serial cable unplug it then plug it back in to the same USB port.

    Now repeat the instructions in Ean's video.

    You get a time out error

    Clock Frequency (External) = 24.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM3'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM3' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Received immediate response from device: 0xAA
    Using micro-Kernel : 'C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.02\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\uGen3052.cde'
    Downloading and verifying micro kernel...
    Device is erasing...
    Erase Timeout value set to 21 seconds
    Error No 15068: Error while reading timed response
    Error No 15047: The device has not confirmed its erasure
    Error No 15019: Download() failed

    In the directory which you installed FDT, there will be a file called "FDTAdvancedSetup.exe". You can use this file to adjust the delays sent by FDT.

    Essentially, a USB connection is way quicker than a serial connection and as such, sometimes your connection will be too quick for the software. The connection gets ahead of the instructions and the instructions get lost resulting in time outs.

    So, back to FTDAdvancedSetup... go into this, you will see two boxes you can click on: "connection settings" and "configure serial port...". Click the "configure serial port..." box. In here, you will see a box "enable serial port delay fix". You want to make sure that's checked. Then where it says delay value, enter 1000 or something (1000 worked for me, you may need to go higher depending on the cable). Disregard where it says the lower the value the better, that doesn't really apply to us as we're just downloading the file, not doing live programming.

    This should fix all those time outs and connection errors when using a USB to serial adapter.


    After performing the set up steps and connecting the firmware header, the jog wheels still light up blue. When I touch them they turn red.

    this is the only thing that would indicate there is something physically wrong with the firmware kit.
    • Check to make sure the kit is seated properly on the board in the right place(including removing the cable as shown in the video)
    • make sure its connected to the computer serial port or usb port.

    If your unit will still not start up in boot mode (the unit is on but the wheels dont light up) then there is something wrong with the kit. Email us (service at djtechtools.com) and we will send you a new one promptly.
    Last edited by EanGolden; 08-03-2009 at 09:04 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hello there, so I finally went and tried to upgrade my VCI-100(black Japan version if that matters) And I had a feeling things would go wrong and they did. At the end it said boot failed. I bought the USB to Serial cable from monoprice, when I connected it to my computer, it said new hardware found, I installed the drivers from the CD that came with the cable. I followed all the instructions from EAN and I tied over and over. I set the delay to 1000 also. The only thing I can think of is that I selected COM3 when the cable is connected on the first USB port. But I am confused b/c no other options in the drop down box seem viable other than COM3. Any help would be very very much appreciated.
    This is what the window at the end says:


    OS: Windows XP [Admin]
    FDT API initialised: version 4, 02, 00, 008
    Clock Frequency (External) = 24.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM3'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM3' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Received immediate response from device: 0x55
    Attempting 4800
    Received immediate response from device: 0x55
    Attempting 2400
    Received immediate response from device: 0x55
    Attempting 1200
    Received immediate response from device: 0x55
    Error No 15024: Boot failed




    Thanks
    Reg
    Last edited by regero; 11-09-2008 at 10:05 PM.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    SoCal.
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I had the same issue....at this step, the vci has to be plugged in via USB, as well as the USB-serial connector...I forgot to plug in the unit. Then I had to go back, and switch the com port to com6 on my computer when I got this message again. Finally, it worked.

    good luck.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard 14N-FR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow (Scotland)
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I have tried two different USB to serial cables with no success and I cant find anyone with a old enough computer with a serial port

    Does anyone have a link to a USB to serial cable they have got to work?

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard HotNife's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Millwall, United Kingdom
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Just to add, if your using serial cables make sure it's a null modem serial cable.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Bodega Brad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Does anyone have a link to a USB to serial cable they have got to work?[/QUOTE]

    I'll re-ask this question, as I've been unable to locate it in the threads. Just ordered my upgrade kit and want to be sure of what has worked best for everyone else. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    hi there
    i am using a usb to serial cable for firmware update, and had the boot failed issue. ive tried to change the com port between 2, 4, 5, 6 and no chance at all...

    boot fails all the time

    i am also confused about the step where u remove for a second only one cable harness and put it back. the firmware kit does not fully slide in when this harness is on is that normal?

    what is the next step?

    thanks

    cheers

    julien

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    106

    Default thats easy...

    Hi Julien,
    the Cable Harness needs to stay unplugged until you have finished flashing/upgrading your firmware.
    So with the that one cable harness unplugged - the upgrade kit fits like a charm.

    After the successful update, remove the upgrade connector (kit) and plug that one harness back into the socket.
    Put your VCI back together, load a matching *.tks or *.tsi file and enjoy the greatness, which Ean and his time have provided!


    Thsi fixes at least one of your problems...
    Last edited by Leon.R; 03-28-2009 at 11:12 AM.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    thank you for your reply!

    i have tried to remove the harness and repeat the same process, i tried 2 diff com port and so far has been unsuccessful

    the machine is in boot mode im pretty sure about that so no hardware issue.

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    ok i made some progress, now i can connect to the vci and boot does not fail anymore. but i got some time out error.

    i followed the indications and tried to change the delay but right now when i add delay the boot fails again. as soon as i remove any delays boot is fine, but time out error

    ive been on this for 3 hours and this is really getting on my nerves now

Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •