Looking for Soundcard and Mixer Recommendations
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Looking for Soundcard and Mixer Recommendations

Hey everybody,

I want to start using an external mixer when I mix. As I'm a college student, I'm on a budget. I've been looking at the Behringer DDM4000 and it looks like a pretty good mixer for the price.
    I've also been looking at sound cards to hook up to with the mixer and I've looked at the Native Instruments Audio 10 since I want to be able to mix all 4 tracks from my computer running traktor.

I'm looking for recommendations on possible cheaper alternatives to the Audio 10 for mixing 4 decks through Traktor.
    I would also appreciate any recommendations on alternatives to the Behringer DDM4000 that are around the same price range ($300-$500).

Thanks for the help!

personally look at other sound cards like the presonus and focusrite ones, this way they can double as production interfaces. also you may have an easier time selling them if you have to. for mixers, the ddm4000 is "functional" but behringer is not really known for quality. see if you can find a used allen&heath, maybe a vestax. I got my xone 62 for 400 used, and its still running in mint...

Tech Wizard

The Behringer DDM4000 is a hellish mixer, the volume faders only seem to respond from 90-100%, the FX section looks cool but is shit there's only 2 mabye 3 cool effects in there.
    The DDM4000 also feels like you will break it by even looking at it.

I agree with calgarc, Allen&Heath really are the best in my opinion, either a xone 42, 62, 82, 92, 3D, 4D(my favorite) will do.
    Otherwise korg got some very cool mixers nice sounding mixers, the zero4 and zero8 they go for any price so you just have to be lucky to find 1 for a good price.

DO NOT buy a native instruments soundcard, any focusrite/presonus/RME will perform better, also don't forget about AKAI, they don't look like they are verry good but those silver and red AKAI boxes sound like heaven.