New to "DJing" - would like some advice
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default New to "DJing" - would like some advice

Hi all,

I am new to Djing (3-4 months) and have taken to it fairly quickly as my flatmate has basically taught me the basics of beatmatching. I practise daily and of course find it incredibly fun.

My Gear
    - Traktor S2 MK2
    - Traktor for iPad
    - Pioneer CDJs (Old ones but no mixer yet so unusable)

I have two questions:

1) Other than beatmatching, having obscure songs to hand (so you don't just sound like others), ability to play to mood of crowd...what other important skills will I need to develop to become a skilled DJ? I am primarily playing House (proper house, not Disclosure) and Grime.

2) What other kit should I buy and can I get by on what I have so far? (Money is tight)

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

This question has been asked a bunch. Do some searching through old threads and the blog and you'll find your answer.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Cool

Beatmatching is great but don't keep it to just intros and outros of songs, get creative in the process. Practice blending for long periods of time, practice blending in and out of breaks, see what songs of yours mesh together best, etc. There's a lot to figure out. Watch some videos of guys like Eats Everything and Carl Cox on CDJs and see what they do. You'll eventually find your path.