Cdj 1000

Thread: Cdj 1000

Exclamation Cdj 1000

Hey, I'm DJ'ing Saturday and they use 1000's, not any of the Mk versions.

I've never used them before so i was just wondering why format i should use? I'm using audio cd's not data. Does it read WAV or should I use mp3's?

I know about the different quality of format i just need to know if the 1000's do read wav's or mp3's, so if anyone has any experience with them and could give me a bit of info that would be great!

Cheers

Audio CDs are always WAVs... if you burn MP3s as an Audio CD they get converted to wav.
    On the other hand you should check the manuals of the CDJ 1000s what specs you best use for the cds you burn.

Quote Originally Posted by sheikyerbouti View Post
    Audio CDs are always WAVs... if you burn MP3s as an Audio CD they get converted to wav.
    On the other hand you should check the manuals of the CDJ 1000s what specs you best use for the cds you burn.
    Not correct.

Laura, I suggest you burn all of your gig CD's as CD-Audio (so max 10-15 files on a single CD). Regarding compatibility issues (I assume that was your question?) it is not important in what digital format the source files were (wav, mp3, flac,.....) from which you created those audio CD's. Just burn them at low speed (like 4x) and use quality blank cd's.

Some CDJ-1000's do read the digital format files (only mp3) but since you do not know what mk version the club has it would be ill-advised to burn your mp3's as data cd. Wav files (burned to a CD as data) are not supported in any CDJ-1000 versions.
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by SlayForMoney View Post
    Not correct.