modular or s8
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: modular or s8

Default modular or s8

Hey guys. I've hit a dilemma. Ive been djing for almost 4 years now and i want to expand my talents as a dj. Ive been using traktor for most of that time and i want to start tapping into remix decks and using effects more often. I feel like I've gotten down general mixing. Can manually beat match and everything. I know how to use the eq's to master the mix and everyting. But i feel the next step is going to remix decks and effects. Ive been thinking about getting a s8 for awhile but its $1200. Ive read the old article back from in the day about this but technology for djing has gotten better since then. So as of june of 2015, with all the equipment we have at our disposal now. What would you guys recommend for the direction I'm going towards. Im a regular at a bar in town and i play everything under the sun. This isn't gonna really a 'practice at home' set up. I'm out every weekend djing. Also I'm gonna be branching off to other clubs soon so i need to keep portablilty in mind.
    So what do you guys think. Any help and opinions would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by afshawn998; 06-19-2015 at 01:56 PM.

If you're a regular DJ at a Regular spot playing anything and everything then don't you want your setup to mimic the clubs you currently/ will play at in the future?
    A+H DB4, Technics 1210's x2, F1, X1MK2 x2, MaschineMk2, Akai LPK 25, MF3D, XDJ-1000 x2.

DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar

S8 or D2's if you can afford them... If not, then get an F1 or the Midifighter 3D. Both are great for effect+remix control - this is how I roll right now

Then what would you guys do for a mixer? Because if the total of the modular adds up to 1500+. I'm just gonna get a s8

But the clubs I'm going to next use all in one controllers. mostly serato users. so should i just stick with the all in one or go to a nice modular set up with two d2's and a good mixer?