Volume Levels on Pioneer Mixers

Question Volume Levels on Pioneer Mixers

Dear Community,

I have a question about the master volume levels on a Pioneer 750-K mixer while mixing on 2 channels via CDJ's 2000NXS.
    In the past I often noticed that when just one channel is actively playing music from one CDJ the master volume level is always stable on -5 (green). Sometimes when I'm bringing in the next song on another channel and even cutting the mids a bit to let's say 10 o'clock the master volume goes up to 0 or +1. For me the mix doesn't sound that loud but I'm afraid I'm doing something wrong here or the songs are not matching that great right? (always mixing in key).

I'm trying to improve my transition skills at the moment and this is something I'm very interested in for a long time.
    Could somebody of you who is more experienced with mixing on Pioneer equipment than me maybe answer my question if this behaviour is normal or if I'm doing something wrong here?

Thanks in advance & best regards!

Yes, the sum of two channels playing on the same level will produce a higher level on the master. How much depends on the songs (newer productions are loud even in mid/high range) and your ability to notice it depends on the resolution on the mixer's VU meters (on mine each LED is 3db).

One part of DJ's is learning how to blend/transition between the two without bumping the master volume noticeably. That's why EQ's are there, that's why we move faders in rhythm of the songs and avoid blasting both channels at the same time.

Work on your EQ a little more, on the incoming song set the low knob to 9 o'clock, mid and high on 10 o'clock. Bring the fader up to 80%, swap the EQ's in rhythm...watch the master levels and see what happens
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

Thank you very much for the detailed explanation! Will try it out next time when I'm behind the decks

Pro tip(from someone who is not a pro):