Which Traktor hardware do I need for these requirements?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Which Traktor hardware do I need for these requirements?

Hi All

Complete novice post coming up...

Having been a hardcore 1210/CDJ1000mk2 person for a long (long) time now, I used a controller (Traktor S2) for the first time last week, and need to get back up to speed with technology.

I've been reading various reviews on different Traktor gear, but each assumes I already know what I need.

Can anyone advise on a suitable controller to fit the following requirements?

• It's electronic music all the way (techno, house, 4-4-2 stuff)
    • I want to pull in music from a digital source (e.g. mp3 on USB/laptop) only. I'm not bothered about vinyl or CD's.
    • I'd like to be able to mix two mp3 tracks, but overlay a sample from a third mp3 (e.g. acapella)
    • I like the loop function (if a track is running out, loop 16 beats as an escape)
    • I like jogwheels! (although that's not critical)

After researching I was thinking perhaps the S4mk2 would suffice, but is that overkill? I'd appreciate your input.

Also, what is the D2 device being pushed on NI's website? How is that different to the "S" devices? Again, I've read the spiel but it assumes I've been using the type of kit before.

Quote Originally Posted by EvilDr View Post
    Hi All

Complete novice post coming up...

Having been a hardcore 1210/CDJ1000mk2 person for a long (long) time now, I used a controller (Traktor S2) for the first time last week, and need to get back up to speed with technology.

I've been reading various reviews on different Traktor gear, but each assumes I already know what I need.

Can anyone advise on a suitable controller to fit the following requirements?

• It's electronic music all the way (techno, house, 4-4-2 stuff)
    • I want to pull in music from a digital source (e.g. mp3 on USB/laptop) only. I'm not bothered about vinyl or CD's.