I am a backline tech for a sound & production company that does festivals & clubs AMA
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default I am a backline tech for a sound & production company that does festivals & clubs AMA

Hey guys, I work for a sound company that builds large speakers used at major festivals and club installations. We handle setting up the stages speakers, and sometimes even the actual stage build & design. My main role right now at the company is "backline manager" which essentially means I help set up the DJ's equipment and handle any problems that might arise on stage during the performance.

I've seen pretty much every setup you can think of, and have worked with many of the biggest names in this industry in all genres of electronic music performance.

I can ramble on for hours with advice if you'd like, or if you have any questions you'd be interested in hearing an answer to, no matter how basic. Let me know

Tech Mentor

I will give a few pieces of solid advice I wish every DJ would read into:

1. headroom is your friend. if your end goal is to DJ or perform on a massive sound system, there is going to be a sound engineer that your signal from the DJ mixer gets fed into. PLEASE understand that running everything as loud as you can will get your music compressed and limited to shit to save the speakers from blowing up, therefor reducing the dynamic range and impact the sound has on your audience. Send a clean, clear, constant volume out your master (and leave headroom on your channels too!). The sound engineer has the ability to give your signal MORE volume before it is sent to the speakers. It's better for them to be able to turn you UP than to turn you DOWN.