Which is more accurate Traktor or Serato Beat Grid?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    Default Which is more accurate Traktor or Serato Beat Grid?

    Hi,

    I've recently purchased Traktor Pro and have found that when I'm zoomed completely into the waveform, I'm unable to place the marker precisely at the beggining of the beat, it seems to jump along about 1mm at a time!

    Does anybody know if Serato is any more accurate? I don't know why there isn't a cycle feature rather than jumping, because 1 out of 5 times your beat is not accurate enough. I've come from DJing using CDJs and I find the impresicion really vexing... Would appreciate any advise before I purchase Serato..!

    Regards
    Kevin Ardala

  2. #2
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Ardala View Post
    Hi,

    I've recently purchased Traktor Pro and have found that when I'm zoomed completely into the waveform, I'm unable to place the marker precisely at the beggining of the beat, it seems to jump along about 1mm at a time!

    Does anybody know if Serato is any more accurate? I don't know why there isn't a cycle feature rather than jumping, because 1 out of 5 times your beat is not accurate enough. I've come from DJing using CDJs and I find the impresicion really vexing... Would appreciate any advise before I purchase Serato..!

    Regards
    Kevin Ardala
    Use the nudge functions to shift the marker exactly where you want it. Also, make sure the BPM is correct.
    Last edited by padi_04; 08-27-2015 at 10:02 AM. Reason: pic size
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3

    Default Traktor Nidge

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    Use the nudge functions to shift the marker exactly where you want it. Also, make sure the BPM is correct.
    Oh, I'll give that another go then... I was under the impression that nudge just did the same thing, but in real time... I guess I'll have to practice more then, lol.

    Ok, thanks for the reply pal.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Quantize and Snap should be off too...
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  5. #5

    Default Quantise and Snap off

    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Quantize and Snap should be off too...
    Cheers for that... Makes sense... I'll give that a go as well... Much appreciated, thanks!

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    50

    Default

    traktor is what lots of house and techno dj's use. many of whom rely on sync to beatmatch allowing them to keep their hands free to do other stuff!

    I personally cannot think of any techno Dj who uses sertato, but im sure there are examples (not many though)

  7. #7

    Default Serato vs Traktor - beat grid

    Quote Originally Posted by Parsons7 View Post
    traktor is what lots of house and techno dj's use. many of whom rely on sync to beatmatch allowing them to keep their hands free to do other stuff!

    I personally cannot think of any techno Dj who uses sertato, but im sure there are examples (not many though)
    Come to think of it neither can I, it does seem to be turntablists who are using Serato! TBH Ive been using Stems over the last few days and it's really interesting... Something I know Serato is having nothing to do with... So, I think it's going to have to be Traktor, I found some pretty good vids explaining what you guys have said, so all is well.

    I think you need an appropriate controller... I was using the F1 with the mouse for Transport which isn't that great... But, if I purchase the X1 (and it's nudge touch strip) I think things will be much better.

    Ok, cheers for the advise!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Parsons7 View Post
    traktor is what lots of house and techno dj's use. many of whom rely on sync to beatmatch allowing them to keep their hands free to do other stuff!

    I personally cannot think of any techno Dj who uses sertato, but im sure there are examples (not many though)
    Dave Clarke.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    57

    Default

    There is a good gridding midi-map for the midifighter - you should be able to convert it to work on the F1 fairly easily - it will be a good way to learn mapping as well!

  10. #10
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    I also have a beatgrid custom UI view for Traktor that I use.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •