New DJ: Traktor or Pioneer?

Default New DJ: Traktor or Pioneer?

Hello Everyone,

I am just starting out in the DJ scene and have a starter question to get me on my path. I mainly listen to EDM and plan to mix EDM just for fun, however I want to be able to learn the fundamentals of DJing so I can use other equipment in the future without having to relearn a completely new system. For the past couple of weeks I've been messing around with the Traktor Pro software and I really like it! The sync seems on point and the sample/remix decks are real nice and easy to use.

I wanted to take the next step and get a controller so I went ahead and bought a Traktor S8. Shortly after my purchase I am pondering if I made a mistake with going with Traktor and not more standardized controller from Pioneer to make the transfer to more advanced equipment easier. What I liked about the Traktor S8 was the STEMS feature to split up the Vocals on EDM tracks (Although after reading it looks to be just marketing thing and I am not sure if STEMS will take off with big artists releasing their tracks in STEMS format) and also the High res display so I can keep my eyes more on the controller then the computer running Traktor Pro. Of course their are are other features however I am wondering if I should return the Traktor S8 and go with a Pioneer controller like the DDJ-RX with the new Rekordbox DJ 4.0 software.

What are your thoughts? For EDM, is it best to stick with the Traktor S8 since beatgriding and Sync should eliminate the need for jog wheels or should I go with a Pioneer DDJ-RX and Rekordbox 4.0 to gain the standardized layout that most DJ's use.

I don't want to just do simple beatchmatching and transitions from one song to another, i'd like to eventually mix acapella's with songs as well as mash songs together.

Here is the info on the Rekordbox 4.0 if you haven't seen it.

http://djtechtools.com/2015/09/10/pi...z-controllers/

DDJ-RX