Techno and Technics
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Techno and Technics

I have been listening to all variations of electronic music for about 20 years and have always wanted to DJ as a hobby. I wanted to get a set of 1200's since I was 12 but never got around to it and have the opportunity now, however the landscape has completely changed.

I am trying to decide whether buying a set of Technics is a bad idea and if I should just get a mixer, a X1 & F1 and run a true controller setup, or incorporate a pair of 1200's with the same.

One of the reasons that I want a vinyl setup is so that I can actually learn to beat match instead of mashing the sync button, and be able to control the record as much as I can. I guess there's also a nostalgic element to it as well.

It seems that no electronic (techno) DJ uses a pair of decks anymore and a vinyl setup is just a waste of space.

If you want 1200s then get the 1200s. You can use them to mix vinyl, and you can use them with softwares like Traktor, Serato, etc.

The landscape has indeed changed, I have a set of 1210 mk2's and it pains me to say it but I don't use them as often as I'd like, the main reason being the cost of vinyl and not having good access to a record shop, it's much easier to do my record shopping online hit download and then head to the spare room to hash out a mix on a midi controller. But then simplicity isn't half as fun as having full control over the record, one thing I have noticed over the years is as DJ technology advances it detached everyone that little bit further from the music. If you have good access to a local record shop and are only taking it up as a hobby I would go with the technics, they are solid bits of kit and learning to beatmatch is equal parts enjoyment and fustration- I'm almost envious, infact I'm going to go fire up the technics right now and dig through some of my old bedrock records
    Last edited by Chael; 11-16-2015 at 04:52 PM.

Tech Convert