Running Traktor on "minPCs"
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    13

    Default Running Traktor on "minPCs"

    Has anyonw tried to run Traktor on these mini-computers or even the "stick PCs"
    I'm considering to try this "for fun" mainly to attempt building it all in a flightcase or a "furniture" (mixer, controllers, monitor)

    Asus Eee Box: Intel Celeron J1900 2GHz QuadCore 4GB DDR

    ASROCK

    MSI Cubi-008XEU: Intel Core i3 5005U 2GHz 4GB RAM

  2. #2
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,762

    Default

    All of those are more expensive than the touch screen laptop I use for Djing.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  3. #3
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the_bastet View Post
    All of those are more expensive than the touch screen laptop I use for Djing.
    And you'll need a screen, keyboard and mouse.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Well, the screen i was planning to integrate in the lid. And a screen I can find lying around in the basement
    As far as mouse/keyboard I hoped to not use them at all.
    Theres not a lot of touch screen laptops around for 170€ as far as I can see, anyway. This was more about making a DIY DJ-console than anything else.
    Last edited by forschi; 11-19-2015 at 09:49 AM.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,762

    Default

    mos def. A mini pc for a console is actually a good route. I wish traktor had dual monitor support.

    Instead of mounting a monitor into the lid, use a pop up hinge to support the monitor. This will take up less space in the booth for setup. On the bottom of your case, make sure you have the option to add legs or have popout legs that are about 5 inches tall. This way you can fly the rig over equipment if you need to. I don't know about there, but here space can be very limited in venues and people can be iffy about you moving their equipment around
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard Pippo91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cagliari,IT
    Posts
    99

    Default

    if you put an SSD, and 8GB of ram (if supported) it's a good option

    and also, you can use an ipad as monitor if you have
    Last edited by Pippo91; 11-19-2015 at 11:17 AM.
    DiJ/Producer
    2 Xone K2 - Maschine - Traktor Pro 2.6.8 - Ableton Live 9 Push - Xone DB2 - MBP13 Late 2011 i7 - Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 "
    Ableton Live 9 Certificate User
    http://www.facebook.com/Effenem

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •