My experience DJing in Japan *rant inside*
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default My experience DJing in Japan *rant inside*

Hello all,

A quick intro for those who don't know me, I am a lawyer working/living in Tokyo who speaks fluent Japanese, and has lived on and off in Japan for 4+ years. I am also a DJ, and have been playing for a bit over two years. I wrote an article/blog post the other day about my experiences in Japan that I thought some of you might find interesting. Here it is:

I've decided to make a DJ-related announcement―and for the first time, it isn't going to be accompanied by crazy pictures, as I'm sure most of you are thoroughly sick of them.

I've been DJing in Japan on and off for over a year, and I've had about 20-30 gigs in total at venues ranging from dive bars, to big clubs, to fancy hotel lounges. For the most part, these events have been a blast, and I'm thankful to have been given all these great opportunities to play. The downside is that 90% of these gigs have been unpaid (save free entry and a drink ticket or two); and by the end of the night I often find myself in the red due to purchasing drinks for friends who have come out to see me, taxis back and forth (when I choose not to go early/stay until 5 AM), etc.

Though I have had a few gigs in North America that didn't provide financial compensation, those situations were far from the norm, and I typically would do them as a favor for friends. In most cases, however, event organizers back home compensate DJs for their services. In fact, there have been situations where the venues were so empty that I'm certain the owners of the establishments were losing money―but they nonetheless paid me. The concept seems quite simple: You request a service; you pay for that service.