Synth recommendation
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Synth recommendation

I really want to get some proper hardware synths, something i can really get hands-on with a feel, but they're obviously not cheap, so can any recommend a synth, I'm a beginner so something that I can hook up to my Allen and heath Zed 10 mixer and use with iMac and Logic.

Budget is around 250-300. Preferably keys, but if there is a good module im open to that too.

I'm into House and Techno, and Funk. So you know, Moog, Juno, Jupiter, Prophet, all sounds that I love.

Is a Novation Bass station MK2 worth getting?

got my eyes on a few, which arE:

Roland JU-06 (£229
    Roland JP-08 (£229)
    Waldorf Pulse 2 (around 350 ish)
    Novation Bass Station MK2 (200-300)
    Last edited by Superfreak; 12-10-2015 at 05:07 PM.
    Roland TB-3, Roland TR-505, Maschine MK1 2.0, Alesis VI25, Novation Impulse 25, Allen & Heath ZED 10, iMac 2.9 GHz i5 8GB RAM, MBP 15" 2.66GHz, Logic Pro 9, Logic Pro X, Ableton Live 8, Ableton Live 9, KRK Rokit 8 G5's, Editor Keys Monitor Guards, Traktor Scratch Pro 2, Audio 10, , Vestax PDX-d3s x2, Kontrol X1 x2, Lexicon Alpha USB Audio Interface,

BS2 is a helluva synth for the price.

The new Roland's might fit the bill for you as well, if you can handle the mini keys.

Don't discount the idea of the Mini/Microbrutes. It will open you up for some semi-modular stuff.

Not sure the going rate on the MS-20 Mini these days, but I'm guessing you could score one used. I love the sound on those dual resonant filters, and you also get the semi-modular thing with it. (mini keys again)

For Moog - you could go Werkstatt, or perhaps a Mother-32 if you can find one for the right price, but the Mother-32 is a single oscillator, so not something I'd recommend for starting out with hardware. I think you'd get bored. Keep your eyes peeled for a used Minitaur as well for bass duties.