DJ Sampling Equipment
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default DJ Sampling Equipment

    Hi Guys,

    I'm New to this Forum but it looks amazing.

    I am currently looking to add to my DJ setup and want to know the best equipment you could recommend for sampling whilst DJing.

    I perform in a duo and we have two CDJ 2000 Nexus a 2000 Mixer and an RMX 500 - i want to introduce a sample pad that one of us can use to add in acapellas FX etc etc. Im Looking for something that can adapt to the BPM and something with pads to trigger live samples. Please any knowledge on what is the best out there to use would be very much appreciated.

    Josh Prince

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    san jose, ca
    Posts
    378

    Default

    do you have a laptop? do you have a copy of ableton? if so, just use that.
    Technics 1210 / Pioneer plx 1000 / Xone 42 / Adam a3x / UA apollo twin / Maschine mikro / Ableton live 9 / Maschine 2 / MBP Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor jimmyv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Traktor with remix decks controlled by an F1... simplest way to go.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    57

    Default

    What jimmy said - plug into the mixer and the decks for HID control over traktor, then get an F1 or midi fighter and run a remix deck over a third channel, easy!

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Sampler

    Quote Originally Posted by csurfleet View Post
    What jimmy said - plug into the mixer and the decks for HID control over traktor, then get an F1 or midi fighter and run a remix deck over a third channel, easy!
    Hi There,

    Thank you very much for your help.

    Unfortunately i don't have a laptop so i was looking for something that i can upload the samples onto it with my Imac then store them on the console and play them live?

    Thank you for any help and i look forwards to your reply

    Many Thanks

    Josh

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,411

    Default

    A Boss SP-202 (or similar) would do this well...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,480

    Default

    Korg Electribe ESX 2?
    SC | MC

  8. #8
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Korg Volca Sample? Though not sure how longer samples would work. I found this video that might help:


    The Akai MPX8 doesn't sync but is cheap and simple. (NOTE: I wrote this review)
    http://djworx.com/review-akai-pro-mpx8-sample-player/
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •