Ableton Live tons of clips
    Tech Student

Default Ableton Live tons of clips

HI Guys,

My name is Enrique, and although i've seen this site linked in many other places i had never actually gone to it until i saw it on Attack of the Show. I

I've been djing on vinyl for about 6 years and have gone fully digital for the past two. My current setup consists of an Allen & Heath Xone 4d and traktor pro and while i'm happy with what it allows me to do i just keep thinking there's a whole other world out there i'm not familiar with, that being Ableton.

I have played around a bit with the lite version of Ableton 6,7 and have managed to warp tracks and do the standard crossfade A to B.

Finally to the question, i sometimes see some DJs laptops displaying ableton with tons of clips across many audio tracks. What is that all about? Is each clip really a different "song"? The same track split up as though they were cue points? That's just a question that has been nagging me for a while.

Thanks

Well, It can be set up however you like honestly! When I DJ with live I have upwards of 200 clips, but probably only around 80 tracks. Those tracks are cut into specific 'cues' or loops that I use for different uses in addition to a large selection of loops (I have a signature kick drum and snare that I play through most of the set.). Some people just have a large music library that they use. It all depends on what YOU want your workflow to be. I've found that when starting to work with ableton (when moving from serato and vinyl) My most difficult obstacle was developing a workflow that worked for me. It took me close to 6 months to find the right workflow where I felt comfortable playing out and that it became smooth and second natured to use.

Spend some time looking at other people's workflows and asking questions and just playing around and I guarantee you'll find that CHOICE workflow.