Another beginner...
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Another beginner...

Sorry for the millionth beginner DJ thread on the internet. I've gone through a lot of old forum posts but the information is either outdated or not relevant to my situation...

I'm looking for some advice in relation buying some 2nd hand turntables, I'm a complete beginner so I just want to learn the basics of dj'ing (beatmatching ect. not interested in scratching). I listen to house and techno so this is the stuff I'll be playing.

Obviously I understand picking up technics is ideal but this is way out of my range currently. What would everyone suggest would be a good place to start for a complete beginner? I've seen the Stanton t62 or numark ttx can be picked up relatively cheap 2nd hand, would anyone advise against either?

As I say, I'm only a beginner and if I took to I'd look to invest in better setup in the future.

Tech Mentor

Firstly, welcome to the forum. There is a wealth of knowledge to be gained in these forums.

I think you shouldn't waste your time on turntables if you are just a beginner. If you are not willing to drop +$600 you probably cannot get worthwhile turntables. You can learn all the skills you need from a controller (aside from scratching seriously) for a fraction of the cost. I recommend going the controller --> Turntable route to start. If you don't like DJing you can move on without major capital investment. Take your time to really read and learn everything you can from the internet. Again, welcome to the forum and the DJ community.
    For all my VCI-100 lovers view my step by step guide to moding your very own VCI-100 Arcade edition
    http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=56270

Quote Originally Posted by sobi View Post
    Want to get better? Two words... jesus pose. 60% of the time, it works every time.