Advice for speakers.

Default Advice for speakers.

Hello and greetings from Greece, i am new to this forum. I saw that you are very helpful and i wanted to share my questions with you. First of all i am an amateur DJ who plays in local clubs/bars very rarely. I want to buy a pair of speakers and a mixer in order to practice alone in my home mostly because i love music and not because i wanna be a super proffesional dj or something. The questions i have are what type of speakers do i need in order to hear pretty loud sound with good quality as well. Do i need pa speakers or monitor speakers? What size is recomended for me in order to fill with loud sound a 24m² (258.3ft²) room. Lastly i have to say that my budget is around 600$ for this gear. Thanks in advance, i will definitely try to be active in this forum.

Systematik

For home use I recommend studio monitors. Stay away from PA speakers in small rooms or in your bedroom, they are meant for events.
    There are pairs of studio monitors I can recommend for a beginner to professional:

1. Pioneer S-DJ50X's
    2. KRK Rokit RP5's

These both come in at around 150 euro per speaker.

Go with monitor speakers rather than PA, also have a look at the Behringer Truth 1031's as they got good reviews from virtually everyone.
    Live rig: Denon Prime (5000M's)
    Retired: Denon x1700, Denon SC3900's, Traktor, Technics SL1200's, my vinyl
    Wish list: Some Roland Aira stuff.

Default Answer

Quote Originally Posted by Stazbumpa View Post
    Go with monitor speakers rather than PA, also have a look at the Behringer Truth 1031's as they got good reviews from virtually everyone.

What about Tannoy reveal 802 ??

Default Monitor speakers

Hi man,

I guess buying KRK Rokit 5 would be a gud deal.

I am a beginner for setting up a small studio in my bedroom.

i will be needing a soundcard too, can anybody suggest which one to go for.

Regards,
    Raj,
    Mumbai, India.