Can you please JUDGE me?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Can you please JUDGE me?

What's up fellow DJs! First off, I'm very glad to join DJTT and the forums here.
    My name is Ed and I've been DJing for about 6 years. I just recently left the mobile DJ company I was working for for the last 5 years and started back on "social media" in as many years.

My question is: how did you (or do you) get people to listen to your work and "follow" you? I don't have a lot of friends or acquaintances that are on social media, and I have been sharing my work with family/friends....but I don't want to come off as a douche that only cares about listener counts, so I haven't been bombarding FB or anything.

I know I'm not that good and I still have much to learn and will continue to as long as I DJ. Can you guys please give me some advice?

Thank you in advance! If you want to check out my mixes before you reply to me here's my link: www.mixcloud.com/insynapse36

Thanks again and cheers! Looking forward to being a member on here!

Hello Insynapse welcome on Board,

Well (first of all I didn't listen to your work on mixcloud) waht do you wanna reach with lots of Likes and Followers on social medias???

There is no evidence of the fact, that having lots of followers and Likes either makes you a better Dj nore really helps pushing a DJ-carreer.
    Like when you start an EVent on FB, you may have 200 People clicking "Will Attend" and at the end playing i front of 20.
    The Facebook Generation doesn't have any reliability (I hope it is the right word) anymore, they say "yes" but mean "maybe" and act "No".

Then Comes the Point that it isn't a secret that you can buy Likes on social medias so an unknown DJ having thousands of Followers would be suspicious to me.

Every serious Promoter/Booker doesn't book you neither due an amount of Likes/Followers nore due to a Mixtape but saw you himself at work or tested you in a "Test-Session".