Difference between Audio 6 and Audio 8?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    92

    Default Difference between Audio 6 and Audio 8?

    Looking to get an interface. I see that the Audio 8 is significantly cheaper. Any reason why?
    Last edited by telamon; 07-13-2016 at 08:50 PM.

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    The only reason is that the Audio 8 is no longer produced. However, if you need 4 external channels this is the way to go unless you go up to the audio 10.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I've been reading that Traktor will crash with the current versions since NI isn't updating the drivers for the Audio 8 anymore. Sucks. I had found one for $50 in my local Craigslist.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    That sucks, indeed. So, if you are happy with 2 channels then go for the audio 6. I bet that NI isn't going to update their audio interfaces in a long time so it's going to be valid for many years.

  5. #5
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Actually you can get 3 stereo channels out of the Traktor Audio 6 and if you only use C and D for remix decks you could merge them into a single channel and use their volume and filter controls to mix them in.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    I have 2 audio 8s running on OS X 10.11...the last driver update for it is grand...all working as it should
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djchriswoods.co.uk View Post
    I have 2 audio 8s running on OS X 10.11...the last driver update for it is grand...all working as it should
    So should I go for it, or not worth the gamble?

  8. #8
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,059

    Default

    buy it...thats dirt cheap...you can always resell it...
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    92

    Default

    If it didn't work with one Mac, would it not work on another? I'm curious.

  10. #10
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,059

    Default

    its all troubleshooting. It's one thing a newer DJ needs to be good at especially when it comes to laptops and software routing.

    unless of course the unit is broken...
    Last edited by keithace; 07-14-2016 at 01:21 PM.
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •