CDJs... worth shelling out?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question CDJs... worth shelling out?

I'll come right out and say it.. in your opinion, are CDJs worth shelling out for?

I've had a really old set of bottom-of-the-line Numark CD players and a mixer for yonks, so I'm not a complete beginner (although the pitch control on the CD players is prone to drifting and can make things difficult).

Have messed about for ages playing at the odd friend's party etc (forgiving crowds) and not put any effort into playing out, but now want to do it. I only want to use hardware in bars/clubs so would like to get to grips with industry standard gear.

Is it honestly worth paying the Pioneer tax to do this? Would much prefer to use USB/Rekordbox than muck around with CDs, which rules out 800s and 1000s.. other models are much harder to find a deal on.

In short... will it cause me problems if I'm unfamiliar with CDJs? All help gratefully received....
    SC - WS

Buy one of the Pioneer Controllers to practice and try out playing on the real CDJs at a friend, shop, etc.
    Totally enough. Buying CDJs for homeuse is total overkill.

Tech Wizard

In my experience, I have learned the mixing technique with old denon players and now I'm learning and practicing with Techinics turntables and when I grab a pair of CDJs it's child's game. CDJs works like every other player but better, more user friendly and are in general smoother in every aspect. And not to mention the accurate bpm measuring, It makes everything easier, you are going to be fine, trust me.
    Last edited by jjjjuan; 09-22-2016 at 12:55 PM.

XDJ-RX or XDJ-700 would bring you close to the club gear experience at home.

Thanks for the replies. I hadn't even thought of getting a controller. The RX looks interesting and might fit the bill if I'm going to be using USB anyway. Any major differences between that and club gear apart from the mixer?