What do you think of Traktor D2?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    20

    Default What do you think of Traktor D2?

    I was just wondering what everyone thinks of the Traktor D2 in general? Having two paired with the Traktor Z2 to take out for gigs. I have turntables and don't know if I should keep the one D2 I own. Thanks.
    Last edited by dj4ever; 11-04-2016 at 09:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,344

    Default

    Honestly, I prefer the F1 for use with TT's. F1 + Remix Decks are a MASSIVE bonus, and tons of fun, for use with 2 turntables and a mixer.

    Get yourself an F1, mate.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I really dig them myself. I got that set on either side of my Allen & Heath Xone92. My only issue is with Native Instruments not placing the power supply block within the unit enclosure and having it with a bulky power block right at the plug outlet. This, paired with the A10 audio interface plug just takes up so much room its a bit annoying.

    But having the 2 screens, access to your remix decks (Yes the F1 has double the pads), and keeping your attention to your mixing decks in front of you feels great. From a performance perspective, its relieving to not have the Laptop face anymore.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sunny Scotland
    Posts
    187

    Default

    My set up has shrunk to a Z2, 2 * D2 and an F1. This is how I play out now and I really like the D2's, only really work as a pair though. I bought 1 to put my toe in the water, bought the second unit two weeks later and sold my X1's straight away.

    Probably should have kept the X1's as a back up but totally sold on the D2's, and really like stems too. If I've set up a play list which I mostly do I pretty much dont look at the laptop all night.

    Want more info on the screens though, not tried the hacks yet, was hoping Native would man up and do an official version to allow tailoring to suit.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turntosideb View Post
    I really dig them myself. I got that set on either side of my Allen & Heath Xone92. My only issue is with Native Instruments not placing the power supply block within the unit enclosure and having it with a bulky power block right at the plug outlet. This, paired with the A10 audio interface plug just takes up so much room its a bit annoying.

    But having the 2 screens, access to your remix decks (Yes the F1 has double the pads), and keeping your attention to your mixing decks in front of you feels great. From a performance perspective, its relieving to not have the Laptop face anymore.
    I don't think the A10 needs power if you use it with a laptop. I don't...
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  6. #6

    Default

    The Audio 10 always needs power, the Audio 6 doesn't.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ErikMinekus View Post
    The Audio 10 always needs power, the Audio 6 doesn't.
    There two version of the A10. The first version needed power the mk2 do not need power.

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Damn, I didn't know the mk2 is USB powered. Maybe it would be worth getting the newer one down the road.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anteater32 View Post
    My set up has shrunk to a Z2, 2 * D2 and an F1. This is how I play out now and I really like the D2's, only really work as a pair though. I bought 1 to put my toe in the water, bought the second unit two weeks later and sold my X1's straight away.

    Probably should have kept the X1's as a back up but totally sold on the D2's, and really like stems too. If I've set up a play list which I mostly do I pretty much dont look at the laptop all night.

    Want more info on the screens though, not tried the hacks yet, was hoping Native would man up and do an official version to allow tailoring to suit.
    Yea at the current display of the D2, its lacking some useful information and not utilizing the real estate all that well. I would highly recommend hoping on those D2 mappings found in an earlier article on Djtech tools! They are really simple to place and are money!

  10. #10
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djgstefan View Post
    There two version of the A10. The first version needed power the mk2 do not need power.
    I thought that was just for iOS devices.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •