Denon SC5000 Prime - Page 3
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 62
  1. #21
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    797

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bassline Brine View Post
    It's cool - but I'm not analyzing my USB sticks for another player. I just won't take the gig.
    Youre unable to play live without cue points and grids?

  2. #22
    Tech Mentor blackavenger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Bland Strand
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Peeps have been asking for a truly "stand alone" unit free from the spacial constraints that bringing a laptop into the booth introduces. Now that it has arrived, all I read are moans and gripes. Damn, you lot are hard to please.

    I'm more impressed by what's going on under the hood and the quality materials it's made from.
    The whole unit is made from metal and glass....quality that's worth paying for.

    It has a multi-core processor.
    It has a multi-touch "glass" capacitive screen.
    It has a metal constructed jogwheel and body.
    It has on-board rubber cue pads (no need for an out-board SP-1)
    It has (3) USB 3.0 IN ports and (1) USB 3.0 OUT port.
    It has Dual Layered outputs....only need (2) players to control (4) tunes!
    It has the ability to load un-analyzed tracks from USB and build metadata in 20 seconds.....frakin' awesome!

    This thing is a controller with "laptop-esque" power built in. What's not to like about that?!? Anyone who thinks that Pioneer are not also moving in this direction w' the latest XDJ/CDJ models are deluding themselves. So, given that, you have to admit that at least from a hardware/feature perspective, these things BLOW Pioneer's offerings out of the frakin' water!!

    I have a Nexus setup and if the SC5000's on-board software performs as well as Pioneer's (or better) then I
    will more than likely sell them and adopt these.
    A&H Xone:PX5 | (2) X Pioneer CDJ-2000nxs2 | Korg KP3+ | (2) X Technics MK5
    Pioneer DDJ-SX2 | V-Moda Crossfade LP2 | 2011 Macbook Pro - (2) X SSD/16GB RAM
    https://soundcloud.com/risquedj

  3. #23
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,815

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ View Post
    Youre unable to play live without cue points and grids?
    I don't use queue points and grids at all actually. I've had issues tagging with people who rely on them - but it's not something I worry about at all. Part of what I like about using USB sticks is just being able to load my music and go - I don't like fiddling with grids or hot cues at all.

    I like analyzing my music in rekordbox because I do like the visual readout of the track (the full track version) as it gives me a visual cue as to when the breakdowns are coming. It's something I've become accustomed to coming from Serato Scratch Live and I like it.

    I just don't want to be bothered prepping ANOTHER set of USB sticks for times when I'd just be using those players. It's a time hassle more than anything else.

    I have a lot of music on my 64gb drives. Sometimes when I'm playing a gig I have to feel out and I may want to reach into a playlist I've prepared in the past. Having them available on the fly is huge.

    Having multiple players doubles the prep time for me - and I don't care for the idea.
    Technics SL-1200 MK2 (x2)
    Rane TTM-56
    Serato SL1 (w/ 13" Macbook Pro)
    Pioneer HDJ-2000

  4. #24
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bassline Brine View Post
    I don't use queue points and grids at all actually. I've had issues tagging with people who rely on them - but it's not something I worry about at all. Part of what I like about using USB sticks is just being able to load my music and go - I don't like fiddling with grids or hot cues at all.

    I like analyzing my music in rekordbox because I do like the visual readout of the track (the full track version) as it gives me a visual cue as to when the breakdowns are coming. It's something I've become accustomed to coming from Serato Scratch Live and I like it.

    I just don't want to be bothered prepping ANOTHER set of USB sticks for times when I'd just be using those players. It's a time hassle more than anything else.

    I have a lot of music on my 64gb drives. Sometimes when I'm playing a gig I have to feel out and I may want to reach into a playlist I've prepared in the past. Having them available on the fly is huge.

    Having multiple players doubles the prep time for me - and I don't care for the idea.
    If I'm not mistaken, the only thing you would be missing when faced with these players would be the search via playlists. And that's only if you're are creating your playlist in Rekordbox and not iTunes-> import in DJ software.
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  5. #25
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,249

    Default

    @Bassline Brine, If you are running PC, run mac osx in a VM. Use rekordbuddy. If you are running OSX, use RekordBuddy. I was hesitant toward denon before knowing that they use the serato library for engine. I already use rekordbuddy to sync between traktor and RekordBox/SeratoDJ, so there will be no change.
    - Equipment - Audio Technica ATLP1240's, Allen & Heath DB4, RekordBoxDJ
    - DAW - Cubase 9 Pro, FL Studio

  6. #26
    Tech Mentor Stazbumpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    170

    Default

    Apparently these Denons will take whatever tracks you've thrown onto the USB stick and analyze them on the fly.
    Denon x1700, 2 x Denon sc3900, 2 x Technics SL1200, Traktor 2.6.something, Dell Latitude @ 1080p and a lot of vinyl.

  7. #27
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,447

    Default

    Yup, takes 20-30sec to analyze tho so you'll want to be pretty sure of what you want loaded before doing so.

  8. #28
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    But the player isn't locked while it is analyzing, you can load and play the song immediately even if the waveform isn't done yet.

  9. #29
    Tech Mentor blackavenger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Bland Strand
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Yup, just like when you load an unanalyzed tune in Serato.
    I don't know Y'all, this deck is everything I've been wishing that Pioneer would make.
    I hope these are a success.
    A&H Xone:PX5 | (2) X Pioneer CDJ-2000nxs2 | Korg KP3+ | (2) X Technics MK5
    Pioneer DDJ-SX2 | V-Moda Crossfade LP2 | 2011 Macbook Pro - (2) X SSD/16GB RAM
    https://soundcloud.com/risquedj

  10. #30

    Default

    also with dual layers, im sure you can play a song and analyze a song on the same player

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •