Problem concerning ableton live and audio latency
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Guru

Default Problem concerning ableton live and audio latency

alright, so I'm a bedroom dj/music lover/song writer myself, and well, honestly i just wanted to open up the demo of ableton and give a go at some live synths and digital drum kits (akai lpd8 actually makes me want to use it as a drum pad)

Long story short, my external sound card (digidesign Mbox 2) seems to be running at obnoxiously high latency, and still has some audio break ups. My input latency is 160ms, and my output latency is 113 ms.... so its pretty impossible to try and play anything through ableton.

Anyone got any tips?

Are you on MAC or PC ?

On MAC, you should be able to able to modify the sample size directly in Live (Preferences > Audio > Under Latency). Simply grab the orange line and move it to like 10 ms to start and see from there.

On PC, you may be able to do the same thing, or you may have to do it in the MBox control panel (ASIO buffer size or similar).

Obviously, in either case, be sure to have the latest drivers for the Mbox
    The Phat One

If the audio is breaking up though, you've probably got a bigger problem than the latency being too high. Giving us more info on the problem will certainly help!
    Monika.mhz - I do things. Also stuff.
    -------------------
    Read the F.A.Q!
    Articles: Streamline Your Laptop for Djs(Windows)

Tech Guru

Alright, I'm on PC, so the only way I can control the ASIO buffer size is with the mbox control panel. regardless of what value I put in that box (128 to 4096) I have audio drops, or random repeats of notes. I have actually had some trouble finding drivers for the mbox, as the disk that came with it (along with protools LE and Reason adapted) simply will not work in any of my laptops. The disk refuses to start spinning. This has not been a problem on any of my desktop systems