Looper/Drum Machine
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor minimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    256

    Default Looper/Drum Machine

    Hi all,

    I'm getting into adding drum loops etc on my decks & wondering what software to use for loop sequencing live on my Mac.(something lighter than ableton)

    Ideally, midi controllable & synched with Traktor.

    Love to hear what u use.

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    vancouver island
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Maschine

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,547

    Default

    I haven't quite figured out how to use drum loops in Maschine. they don't continuously play. Has anyone here figured this out?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    985

    Default

    i mean... how about ableton lite (or intro, w/e). The impulse drum kit, as well as the drum rack is a nice little way to sequence drum loops.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor minimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Has anyone tried Battery? Can we sequence loops on that?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor gfocus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asterik View Post
    Maschine
    +1

    The great thing about the Maschine is the tight hardware/software integration. You don't need the software window open to have an idea what's going on. If you're using only one laptop, this is a killer feature. It's just that the Maschine software isn't exactly "light" and price might be an obstacle too...
    Last edited by gfocus; 12-04-2009 at 07:12 AM.
    Everytime you hit SYNC, an old paradigm dies a little.
    Setup: MBP 13", Audio Kontrol 1, VCI 100 1.3, Maschine, Traktor Pro 1.2.2

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard spaced_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    or you might want to go analog with groove machines like the Zoom RT223 or Roland SP series. not much hassles with the midi syncing. not much head-cracking. just run 'em manually.

    Quote Originally Posted by gfocus View Post
    +1

    The great thing about the Maschine is the tight hardware/software integration. You don't need the software window open to have an idea what's going on. If you're using only one laptop, this is a killer feature. It's just that the Maschine software isn't exactly "light" and price might be an obstacle too...
    running Maschine with Traktor doesn't require 2 laptops you say? now that's a new fact for me. but the price-tag's still a ball-breaker.



    peace.
    spaced___

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor minimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Yeah, Maschine looks nice but I'm not there money-wise. ( + another lappy, me thinks not)

    Maybe analog hardware is the way to go. Groovy old-school sounds could be a nice texture...

    cheers,

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard spaced_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    alternatively you can checkout these softwares for size. they're plug-ins but also come standalone. my fav is the FXpansion Guru though. you can use it with cheaper pads like the Korg padKontrol/ nanopad and even the Akai LPD8.

    FXpansion Guru: http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=4&tab=27
    D16 Group Nithonat: http://www.d16.pl/nithonat




    peace.
    spaced___

  10. #10
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Maschine ftw im about to order one in a few days, i was lucky enough to get a 50% off voucher for doing some stuff for NI

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •