What laptop are you using?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Convert RAMSU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Aruba
    Posts
    12

    Default What laptop are you using?

    Hello, I wanted to start this thread since I am thinking about buying a new laptop specifically for the use with Traktor and Ableton.
    I am currently on an ASUS ROG laptop with an i7 at 2.7ghz and 12GB RAM. But since it's the laptop I use for work It has a lot of programs on it that kind of interfere while using Traktor.

    I don't want to start a debate between PC/MAC. Just want to know what people are using and runs smooth using 2 Track decks, 2 Remix decks running the step sequencer and grouped FX.
    Looking for this format in a way:

    OS: Windows
    Laptop: ASUS ROG
    Specs: 12GB RAM, I7 2.7Ghz, GTX660M
    Controller: Kontrol S8
    Traktor decks: 2 Track Decks / 2 Remix Decks (using step sequencer only atm)

    Or any advice would be appreciated. I wouldn't mind buying a macbook if it runs everything smooth with realtime audio. (since the S8 is locked at 48000)

  2. #2
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    HP x360
    16GB RAM
    Intel I7 6700 HQ (3.2ghz)
    Nvidia 950M
    1TB Samsung SSD

    2 ATLP1240's
    2 ATLP120's
    1 Novation Launchpad Mini
    2 Custom Controllers
    1 Allen & Heath Xone DB2

    7.2ms total latency
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013) 2.4 GHz i5, 8GB RAM.
    Audio 4 DJ interface and a 1 Kontrol X1 Mk 2.

    Very occasional drops only if I use a USB hub for the interface and controller.

    I'd be interested to know if anyone is using a newer MacBook (non-pro, and despite the lack of ports) to run traktor happily.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Guam - Saipan
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I use a mid 2012 MBP, non-retina (15", 2.3 i7, 16gb ram). Swapped out the regular HD to a 480gb sandisk ultra SSD, and replaced the optical with a 1tb hybrid. Never had it drop out audio.

    I've used it with an audio 8, or audio 4, running DVS with an X1 plugged in. No lag, no drop outs.

    I also had an older Macbook air 13" (128gb 4gb RAM), that ran Traktor with the same setup. I have to admit, it seemed a bit taxed, so I sold my old MBAir, and replaced it with a newer 2015 13" 8gb RAM model. Don't think the Audio 8 would be running on it, but haven't tried yet. When I get around to it, I'll let you guys know.
    Joboodah

  5. #5
    Tech Convert davekeset's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    12

    Default

    late 2013 Retina MBP 13"
    8G ram
    2.6ghz i5
    500gb SSD

    i run 2 cdj 900's into traktor, 2 1200s in timecode, and x1 mk2 into my 900 nexus mixer with no issues whatsoever. had that setup since 2015.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    2015 mbp 13"
    16gb ram
    250gb ssd
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard CB75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Bakersfield CA
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5737
    OS: Windows 8
    RAM: 16 GB
    Processor: Intel Core i7-4500u 2.4 GHz

    Run Traktor with Audio 10, 2 Kontrol X1's, 1 Kontrol F1, Maschine Mikro, Roland TR-8, and a Korg Volca. No issues to this point.
    Last edited by CB75; 05-11-2017 at 08:58 AM. Reason: spelling
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2 / Traktor Audio 10 / Pioneer DJM 700 / Technics SL-1200 M3D / Ortofon Concorde Pro / Sicmats / Traktor Kontrol X1 mk2 / Traktor Kontrol F1 / Maschine Mikro MK2 / Roland TR-8 / Korg Volca Bass / Sony MDR-V700 / Dell Inspiron (Windows 8) / Chroma Caps / Tanqueray Gin

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Laptop: Macbook Pro 15'' - 2015
    RAM: 16 GB
    Processor: Intel Core i7
    Memory : 256 GB + 1TB wireless 7200 rpm

    Run Traktor with Ableton by : CMD Studio 4a + Korg Volca Bass, Sample (Behringer UCA222)

    Works Perfect.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Lenovo X230 - i5, 2.8ghz, 8 gigs ram, 500 gig 7200 rpm drive
    Windows 10, Ableton and Traktor
    Tascam Us-224 - driver is a beta for vista and runs great in compatibility mode running at 48khz 16 bit
    7.6 ms latency - for some reason the audio driver needs to be set for 24 bit 192 khz or it will hiccup occasionally

    My other laptop - Gateway 17" core 2 duo 2.4 ghz 4 gigs ram
    Windows 10, Ableton
    Same interface and driver - 10.3 ms
    interestingly the audio driver has to be set to maximum spec or there is an occasional hiccup

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •