Using samples with out a laptop in DJ sets?
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Using samples with out a laptop in DJ sets?

    Hi

    I believe this is my first post. I'm a long time working DJ in NYC.

    I've been playing off of USB sticks with out a laptop more lately. Enjoy the switch. Was wondering if DJs have found any good portable solutions to playing/triggering samples like your classic air horn etc. I realize you could load up a pioneer rmx 1000 or an old sp404 but even if I owned one I would not be likely to bring it out to most everyday gigs. I see a couple iPhone apps for this exist but that seems kind of amateur. Does anything like the SP6 in serato exist that you could easily intergrate into your standard pioneer 900 mixer and cdj 2000's with out a laptop or significant gear? Thanks for any insite you might have.

  2. #2

    Default

    i do not believe there is any way to integrate anything into the mixer because it doesnt have any extra buttons and even if it did, im sure you would still need a laptop. and unfortunately stand alone devices are extremely expensive

  3. #3
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,576

    Default

    Akai MPX8 is small enough to throw in a gig bag and cheap as chips @ $99

    Last edited by deevey; 04-17-2017 at 11:47 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    i stand corrected! good find!

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    Akai MPX8 is small enough to throw in a gig bag and cheap as chips @ $99

    This looks like it's exactly what I was asking for. Nice One. Thanks for the response.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard pacific808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hilo, HI
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Yeah akai has some stuff. You could also use an iPad as there are several sampler apps and you could either add it to a line channel on a 900nxs or use the USB port on the newer 900nxs2.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru happydan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    Korg Volca Sample might do the trick.
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 MK2 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Audio 10 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Ableton Push
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleephudds
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •