DJing with Mixer and Launch Pad only ?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default DJing with Mixer and Launch Pad only ?

    -Saw a video of a dude that uses a djm900 and a novation launchpad to Dj with ableton. Said he mapped his mixer to ableton?

    -Would a mixer map just like any other midi controller etc. would?

    - Also, another thought, Wether it be a 2 channel or 4 channel mixer, how would you go about utilizing multiple channels for more natural mixing or even stuff like chopping if your only using mixer and launch pad?

    thanks tribe.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostcoast View Post
    -Saw a video of a dude that uses a djm900 and a novation launchpad to Dj with ableton. Said he mapped his mixer to ableton?

    -Would a mixer map just like any other midi controller etc. would?

    - Also, another thought, Wether it be a 2 channel or 4 channel mixer, how would you go about utilizing multiple channels for more natural mixing or even stuff like chopping if your only using mixer and launch pad?

    thanks tribe.
    If your mixer has MIDI control, then it shouldn't be a problem. The easiest way to DJ would be to just have however many channels on the mixer set up in Ableton, and just add pre-warped tracks to a channel you are using.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    If your mixer has MIDI control, then it shouldn't be a problem. The easiest way to DJ would be to just have however many channels on the mixer set up in Ableton, and just add pre-warped tracks to a channel you are using.
    I apologize i am new to to this kind of stuff, Ive just used CDJs and controllers, but could you elaborate on this for me when you got the time?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostcoast View Post
    I apologize i am new to to this kind of stuff, Ive just used CDJs and controllers, but could you elaborate on this for me when you got the time?
    Which bit? Do you have experience with Ableton?
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    Which bit? Do you have experience with Ableton?
    ya totally. Ive produced on it for 3-4 years now. I dont get the "DJ" side of it though and i dont understand how people are linking or mapping it to their mixers. Thats kinda what im tryin to figure out. This dude used a novation launchpad and a DJM mixer, thats it. He mapped his mixer to ableton and was able to play tracks from all 4 mixer channels like u would if you had decks.
    I have the push so i wanted mess around in this same way along side my midifighter clone im building.

    In a more simple way, i cant figure out connecting the Push, mixer, and computer al together.

    thanks sorry for the ramble.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    I would guess (without seeing it working) that he outputs four channels in Ableton session view to the four channels on the mixer. He has warped and prepped tracks as clips in each channel, and uses the launchpad to launch clips. Probably has some effects on S/R set up too.

    Henry Saiz does the same, but just launches the tracks on the laptop (first DJ in this video).

    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •