Have a MidiFighter 3d? Could you check something for me?
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default Have a MidiFighter 3d? Could you check something for me?

    If you're on macOS (I'm on Sierra, 10.12.3), could you check in the Audio Midi Setup app (or anything else that lists the MIDI port names) if the MidiFighter shows up for you with a strange unicode character?

    For me, the MidiFighter 3D is listed as:

    Midi Fighter 3D̨w

    Note for some reason the unicode character (combining ogonek, u0328, http://graphemica.com/0328) and then the w.

    This is hosing me because I'm using a MIDI library in Python to read from the MidiFighter, and it's getting choked up on the unicode character. macOS also doesn't seem to let me rename this port: I'm assuming it's in the firmware.

    If you would, please check this and let me know if you see the same!

    Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 11.21.56 PM.jpg

  2. #2
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mfrederickson View Post
    If you're on macOS (I'm on Sierra, 10.12.3), could you check in the Audio Midi Setup app (or anything else that lists the MIDI port names) if the MidiFighter shows up for you with a strange unicode character?

    For me, the MidiFighter 3D is listed as:

    Midi Fighter 3D̨w

    Note for some reason the unicode character (combining ogonek, u0328, http://graphemica.com/0328) and then the w.

    This is hosing me because I'm using a MIDI library in Python to read from the MidiFighter, and it's getting choked up on the unicode character. macOS also doesn't seem to let me rename this port: I'm assuming it's in the firmware.

    If you would, please check this and let me know if you see the same!

    Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 11.21.56 PM.jpg
    No such an issue here. (10.9.5)

    Was it like that ever since you have your 3D?

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    No such an issue here. (10.9.5)

    Was it like that ever since you have your 3D?
    Yes! Very strange that you're not seeing that. Anyone else on Sierra?

    I got my MIDIFighter just last week, and I'm on firmware 30, May 2013.

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,436

    Default

    You can flash the factory firmware to the unit and then back the latest one, it should get it sorted.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    You can flash the factory firmware to the unit and then back the latest one, it should get it sorted.
    Unfortunately, I've done this, and still seem the strange character.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    In case anyone comes across this thread with a similar issue, I was ultimately able to resolve this on macOS by unplugging the Midi Fighter, going to Audio MIDI Setup, removing the MIDI device there, plugging the Fighter back in and going to "rescan MIDI". It then appeared without the unicode character.

  7. #7
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mfrederickson View Post
    In case anyone comes across this thread with a similar issue, I was ultimately able to resolve this on macOS by unplugging the Midi Fighter, going to Audio MIDI Setup, removing the MIDI device there, plugging the Fighter back in and going to "rescan MIDI". It then appeared without the unicode character.
    Glad you have it solved now!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •