Questions from a complete newb

Default Questions from a complete newb

Hey everyone!
    A complete newb is here, my name is Anthony and I just started to dive into the world of mixes and electronic music. I got myself a little "Numark Party Mix" just to see if its for me and so far so good!
    A little bit about me, I'm a musician, been studying composition for the past 4 years along with Piano and vocals until a recent injury had made me consider other possible streams of income.

I actually managed to talk to a friend who holds a small neighborhood bar in town so that I could play a set there, but he requested that I would send him an example of my music, I am completely clueless about it and so I wanted to ask -
    What music would sound best in such a venue ?
    how should I build up my set in the first place (I figured start with hip hop and slowly ramp up to 126 bpm, bear in mind that they play a lot of indie and other electronic artists like Alt J, Massive Attack and such) and am I supposed to send him the whole set or just an example?

I'm more than willing to learn and take any recommendations so feel free to share anything that might have even the slightest value!

Peace

First of all Welcome to the DJ World.

1. I would say first you'll have to determine what you exactly wanna do:

You first say you freshly started diving into Electronic Music, the you talk about HipHop, etc...

2. Give yourself time before first public Gig, your Reputation can be ruined before your DJ carreer really started....Always Remember "Rome wasn't built in a Day".

3. Talk to the Patron of the Bar and ask him what he expects you to Play as a DJ, then you can decide yourself if you're able to provide and fulfill his expectations. But don't Forget to stay true to yourself, don't say you can do it if you have no clue 'bout Music Genre for example.