Twister : Next Bank
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default Twister : Next Bank

    Hi,

    I'm quite new to adjusting midi settings on midi devices.

    I was wandering if you could adjust, on the Midi Fighter Twister, a knob
    switch to make it switch to the next/previous bank of encoder settings
    when pressed (or released) ? Maybe with a plugin ?

    I find the side button a bit harder to switch fast between different banks.

    Thanks,
    L.

  2. #2
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,447

    Default

    Not for the next/prev action directly but you can assign the regular banks instead

    e.g.: bank 1 takes you to bank 2
    bank 2 has 2 buttons that take you back to 1 or 3
    etc

    You can find the specific CCs you need to use in the User Guide.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks !

    In found this in the manual :

    I.e. When changing from Bank 1 to Bank 2 the Midi Fighter Twister will send a
    Ch4 CC0 Note Off followed by a Ch4 CC1 Note On.


    But I can't seem to set these in the MidiFighter Utility. On the knob, I guess I have to
    set the switch action type to CC toggle. But I can't seem to set a "on_press" or "on_release"
    state..

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,447

    Default

    Set it as CC Hold, you don't need press/release states.

    With hold after you release it the device will be in the new bank so if you are now on let's say bank 2, you'll have the bank 1 and bank 3 CCs assigned to those controls.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    If I set the following on a knob :

    Switch Action Type : CC Hold
    Switch MIDI Channel : 4
    Switch MIDI number : 1

    Which, from what I can figure out from the manual, is accessing Bank 2 ..

    .. and press the knob, in the Midifighter Utility the bank changes to Bank 2, but it does not happen on the
    Twister itself ?! The lights do not change ...

    If I check the log I get the following :

    Pressing the assigned knob :
    Received Message: b3 01 7f
    Received Message: b3 01 00

    Pressing the Left Side Button 1 Function (which is assigned to go to Bank 2) :
    Received Message: b3 00 00
    Received Message: b3 01 7f

    Pressing the "Bank 2" button in the Midifighter Utility :
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f

    Trying to wrap my head arround it ... It seems that I still send the wrong message to the device, compared to when pressing the side button. But can't seem to have many options in the Midifighter Utility to send the correct message.

  6. #6
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,936

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lumes View Post
    If I set the following on a knob :

    Switch Action Type : CC Hold
    Switch MIDI Channel : 4
    Switch MIDI number : 1

    Which, from what I can figure out from the manual, is accessing Bank 2 ..

    .. and press the knob, in the Midifighter Utility the bank changes to Bank 2, but it does not happen on the
    Twister itself ?! The lights do not change ...

    If I check the log I get the following :

    Pressing the assigned knob :
    Received Message: b3 01 7f
    Received Message: b3 01 00

    Pressing the Left Side Button 1 Function (which is assigned to go to Bank 2) :
    Received Message: b3 00 00
    Received Message: b3 01 7f

    Pressing the "Bank 2" button in the Midifighter Utility :
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f
    Sent Message: 93 01 7f

    Trying to wrap my head arround it ... It seems that I still send the wrong message to the device, compared to when pressing the side button. But can't seem to have many options in the Midifighter Utility to send the correct message.
    Just to be sure, did you send new settings to the Midifighter after you changed Midi channel and CC number for the encoders?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    When testing this, I always just changed one or two settings, and sended these to the midifighter.

    The firmware is up to date (23 june 2016).

    A little note also;

    When pressing the knob that has assigned the midi channel and number mentioned before, the bank only changes
    in the Midifighter Utiliy as mentioned. When then pressing the Bank 2 button in the Midifighter Utility, the Midifighter itself won't update also anymore.

    Below is a WeTransfer link to a quick and dirty video (30MB) where you can see what's happening.

    https://we.tl/RIhMZWoThz

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    hi mate, did you get this going eventually? it'd be really good to be skip banks via midi...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •