3-4 channel audio interface - hit me with some recs!
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default 3-4 channel audio interface - hit me with some recs!

    Hey guys,

    I'm looking for an audio interface that allows me to send a signal to at least three different channels on my mixer. I two decks and one remix deck going. One Kontrol X1 for the two decks, one F1 for the remix deck and an Allen & Heath Xone 1D to control pitch and a bunch of other stuff for all decks. Of course I'd go for as cheap as I can go while still getting alright quality and low latency. I'm using Traktor, if that makes a difference.

    I looked around and found the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 aswell as the Traktor Scratch A6 - I just don't get it. Main out, A, B, channel 1-6, I can't wrap my head around it. What kind of an interface do I need? Are there any alternatives to NI:s stuff that I can use?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    You need Traktor Scratch A6 (3ch) or above (A8, A10 - 4ch). Cheaper alternatives with only outputs are something like ESI Gigaport HD+ (4ch) or similar but there aren't so many options out there actually so NI interfaces are almost a standard. Make sure you check compatibility with your OS because some of them are discontinued and won't work on newer macOS's.

    Komplete A6 only has 2ch analog output, 3rd ch is digital so you would need a mixer with digital inputs to use it.
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default

    With the upcoming release of the 750mk2 you should be able to get a fairly cheap mk1 second hand. Just plug all the gear into a usb hub and problem solved.

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Temple Of Boom, NZ
    Posts
    12,210

    Default

    Audio 6= Jester approves
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020




  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlayForMoney View Post
    You need Traktor Scratch A6 (3ch) or above (A8, A10 - 4ch). Cheaper alternatives with only outputs are something like ESI Gigaport HD+ (4ch) or similar but there aren't so many options out there actually so NI interfaces are almost a standard. Make sure you check compatibility with your OS because some of them are discontinued and won't work on newer macOS's.

    Komplete A6 only has 2ch analog output, 3rd ch is digital so you would need a mixer with digital inputs to use it.
    Alright, cool. I found an Audio 10 for 180 euros that I can order right now but I don't really have the money to do so comfortably, is that a ridicculously good price (=get it now) or how much do they usually go for? Condition seems to be new

    Quote Originally Posted by Mrbigtoe View Post
    With the upcoming release of the 750mk2 you should be able to get a fairly cheap mk1 second hand. Just plug all the gear into a usb hub and problem solved.
    That's not bad advice, however I'm planning on using my setup in clubs which might have older mixers so I feel like I should get an audio interface that lets me connect to those mixers.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    Audio 6= Jester approves
    Cheers, how's that DN-X1600 working for you?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,016

    Default

    Got any Firewire connectivity? Get yourself a MOTU Ultralite.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Got any Firewire connectivity? Get yourself a MOTU Ultralite.
    Afraid not. USB all the way. Do you know anything about how much the Audio 10 usually goes for?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smutsik View Post
    Afraid not. USB all the way. Do you know anything about how much the Audio 10 usually goes for?
    You can find em on ebay as standlone for $250-300 used.
    - Equipment - Audio Technica ATLP1240's, Allen & Heath DB4, RekordBoxDJ
    - DAW - Cubase 9 Pro, FL Studio

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the_bastet View Post
    You can find em on ebay as standlone for $250-300 used.
    so 180€ is a gret price? I'm not tight on money right now but if the price is unlikely to come back this good then I might have to hit it

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Temple Of Boom, NZ
    Posts
    12,210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smutsik View Post
    Cheers, how's that DN-X1600 working for you?
    Love it mate. 4 years in, still a beast
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •