Looking for a sampler
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Default Looking for a sampler

    I'm looking for a sampler to play one-shots but mainly loops in my DJ sets. I want something that is easily synced to the CDJs BPM OR can have the tempo adjusted and the sample "nudged" like a TT so that it stays in sync with whatever track is playing. I guess I want a hardware version of Traktor's remix decks.

    Essentially I want to be able to loop acapellas, synth loop and drum loops to personalise and build tracks on the fly, without hogging one of the CDJs in loop.

    The Pioneer Toraiz SP16 is obviously the perfect solution but it is too expensive for something that is ultimately an experiment.

    What options are there? I've looked at the AKAI MPX16 which looks like what I'm after, but I can't find anything online that really explains how to keep it in time with the music?

    Thanks for you help.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru happydan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    If your mixer has MIDI out and a BPM counter, it's likely to be able to sync with a sampler that has MIDI in, such as the MPX16. What is your realistic budget?
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 MK2 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Audio 10 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Ableton Push
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleephudds
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    If your mixer has MIDI out and a BPM counter, it's likely to be able to sync with a sampler that has MIDI in, such as the MPX16. What is your realistic budget?
    DJM 900 Nexus 2 at the moment, though considering a Xone:92 for something different.

    The Nexus 2 only has USB outs to drive the MIDI so currently scouring the net for a USB Type B to MIDI converter cable..... hen's teeth.

    Small budget really, or secondhand market. 200GBP/USD sort of range, though would go more for something really clever. The key here though is simplicity, I don't want to get too bogged down with almost live production, just something to add an extra layer to the DJing.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru happydan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,279
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 MK2 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Audio 10 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Ableton Push
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleephudds
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    Funnily enough that's exactly what I bought but no manner of combination ever seems to send clock information from the DJM to any device (tried it with Novation Circuit, Akai MPX 16 and Ableton).

    MPX16 is useless if the loops cannot have the tempo adjusted in real time to match the music, it's basically just a one-shot pad without that. I've put it straight back on eBay.

    Back to the drawing board....

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Boss SP-202 (had one for years and fuckin' LOVED it)
    Roland SP-404
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,533

    Default

    I was under the impression that in order for USB midi to sync that there needed to be a computer as a middleman to output the Midi Data to other sources ?

    So this question got me fired up and scouring every source I could find about syncing the DJM with samplers and drum machines. However I have yet to see a single post on the interwebs where the BPM midi data from the nexus can be used for syncing anything other than software on a laptop(s) successfully.

    The Sp-16 might be the only one that genuinely syncs with the Nexus2 (via Link)

    Its possible that maybe an iPad with iMPC would as well

    The Midi DIN on the First edition Nexus did sync......sometimes apparently

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    I hear you.

    DJM 850 has a midi out on the rear. I've never tried syncing it to anything - but I might try sync'ing it to my DR-202 drum machine to check if it DOES send midi... In fact, I meant to try that ages ago so that I could use the Drum Rolls/Fills on the DR-202 (a la Plump DJ's) in my DJ mixes.

    But you're right - that will depend on the MIDI OUT from some software connected to the DJM.

    I suspect there IS some kind of audio to MIDI in the DJM's so that you could sync without MIDI from software - either that, or you could TAP the tempo on the DJM then send the midi???
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,533

    Default

    Did not realize they were still in existance but this might work.

    The original red Devices were pretty decent at syncing even almost 20 yrs ago.

    https://www.musicstore.de/en_BA/EUR/...DJE0001955-000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •