Question on Traktor Compatibility with new set up - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,539

    Default

    It is going to be a $5,000 investment to I am trying to get as much feedback as possible to make sure this is the right move. I have the latest Mac Os and Traktor versions.
    Personally I'd make the jump to Rekordbox. You only need to do the conversion once, and you will be able to get the most out of the XDJ's (not to mention already have everything prepped should you be playing on house equipment).

    $5000 is alot of money to spend on something when you cant use all the features properly - if you REALLY don't want to switch from traktor however theres probably some deals knocking around on Mk1's. Theres really nothing that the MK2 would really add to a Traktor setup (with the exception more wires and USB hub required).

    It'd save you around $800 that you could spend on some other fancy toys or hold buying out until HID becomes a reality (if ever) for the MK2

  2. #12
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlayForMoney View Post
    True but I understand why if money is not a problem.
    - as a longterm Traktor user he want a better hardware than NI can ever offer.
    - he needs platters for deck control
    - because of NI's lack of third party hardware support he's forced to buy expensive CDJ/XDJ just to use them as controllers, in the same manner as my two cheap portable SC2000's do the job
    - a good mixer is a centerpiece of every setup, that will outlast other bits so it's worth to spend more on it

    Thanks all. This is really good info and feedback.

    SlayForMoney, you absolutely got my need...and when you add that I want to continue using 4 decks, it appears my idea is non-feasible. I guess I am stuck with my S4 for a while It seems the right compromise for what I want to do anyway...

    Thx

  3. #13
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,486

    Default

    Or you could buy secondhand XDJ-1000mk1 - save some money, get Traktor HID support

    Also, bear in mind you will also need a X1 or some other controller for Traktor FX's.
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  4. #14
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    130

    Default

    I think you'll need a small additional controller anyway if you want to use 4 decks. Switching decks on a CDJ/XDJ in HID takes like 5 seconds, it will get annoying quickly.
    15" MacBook Pro late 2016 (10.12.6) / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.11.0 / Crane Stand Pro
    Pioneer DJM-750 / 2x Pioneer XDJ-1000 & Kontrol D2 / Audio 10 / Sennheiser HD25

  5. #15
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks all>

    How about the Pioneer DDJ SX2 with Traktor. Seems like it would have Pioneer hardware and soundcard quality with the convenience of seamless integration with Traktor, no? Any threads out there about people using this controller with Traktor? thx.

    fdelas

  6. #16
    Tech Guru happydan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fdelas View Post
    Thanks all>

    How about the Pioneer DDJ SX2 with Traktor. Seems like it would have Pioneer hardware and soundcard quality with the convenience of seamless integration with Traktor, no? Any threads out there about people using this controller with Traktor? thx.

    fdelas
    I really doubt Pioneer's audio interfaces are any better quality than Native Instruments'... In fact I'd probably go the other way.
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 MK2 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Audio 10 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Ableton Push
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleephudds
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  7. #17
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    I really doubt Pioneer's audio interfaces are any better quality than Native Instruments'... In fact I'd probably go the other way.
    Thanks!!! For some reason, I thought the hardware and soundcard would be superior but this is good to know. Again, one more reason to stick to NI plug and play.

    thx

  8. #18
    Tech Guru happydan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fdelas View Post
    Thanks!!! For some reason, I thought the hardware and soundcard would be superior but this is good to know. Again, one more reason to stick to NI plug and play.

    thx
    Pioneer quality reputation is mostly marketing. Rather, any lead in quality is mostly marketing. Pretty much all hardware released recently will have decent sound quality
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 MK2 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Audio 10 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Ableton Push
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleephudds
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  9. #19
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks HappyDan and all! This convesation was very useful.

  10. #20
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,166

    Default

    If you are looking for sound quality in an interface, NI is where it's at. I have an Apollo Twin, Komplete 6, and Audio Kontrol 1. Needless to say, my Apollo Twin rarely sees use anymore. I fell in love with the sound of my Komplete 6.

    That aside, for deejaying, go pioneer. THeir DJ hardware is on point. It's their main focus, so they won't toss it by the wayside. Their software is making amazing leaps forward as well.
    - Equipment - Audio Technica ATLP1240's, Allen & Heath DB4, RekordBoxDJ
    - DAW - Cubase 9 Pro, FL Studio

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •