Beginner wants to learn scratching
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Beginner wants to learn scratching

Hello guys,

I would like to know what will be the best path to take so I could learn scratching. I am a beginner, focused on old hip-hop and do not have any hardware yet (except monitors/headphones)

A) Get a controller with good jogs and call it a day. For example DDJ-RR. Later think for vinyl
    OR
    B) Get one turntable + mixer. Later upgrade with second turntable.

I am talking for DVS and I am not considering basic mixer or without audio dvs interface (hard times finding vinyl records)
    I am not considering CDJs (controller could do almost the same job with less budget and it is more compact)

Basically I would like to understand:
    1) If controller will be enough so I could learn to scratch and achieve the effect of "basic scratching on turntable"
    2) Should I get mixer + dvs or DVS-enabled mixer (2 in 1), something like DJ DJM-250 MK2
    3) If I go B) Will cheap turntable like AT-LP120USBHC, Stanton 55/62 be enough so I get the basic level or should I go for something more expensive like ReloopRB8000, AT-LP1240USB, Technics SL-1200
    4) Is there a direct-drive turntable that cannot go DVS?

I am not saying that I am right, so you could argue any of my statements. I would appreciate any advice or help.

Get a Mixars Duo, ATLP1240, a serato timecode vinyl, a shure m44 cartridge/stylus, and you will be good to go. :-)
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

^Good advice.

If I was starting out again there are 3 free YouTube resources that I’d go to:

DJ Angelo