Help needed/ Traktor mapping/ Apc40mk2/ Difficulties to map leds outs for loops
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,163

    Default Help needed/ Traktor mapping/ Apc40mk2/ Difficulties to map leds outs for loops

    Hey guys,
    I'm try to help a fellow traktor user and after a bit of time on it I don't find the solution.

    On a apc40mk2, trying to map loops for 4 buttons (length values 2,4,8,16).
    The mapping for loops should be ok, but I can't make the leds to work properly.
    The intended behaviour should be as following:
    - loop active off; leds should be green
    - loop active on: the selected lenght/button should be red, all the others green.

    Could someone pinpoint me in the right direction please, there's something I obviously missed.
    Here's what I've done as an example for the two first buttons (loop 2 & 4)

    First button

    (in commands)

    add in/deck command/loop/loop size select + set
    learn the first button you'll use for a 2 beat loop
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A / set the value to 0
    set it as a button/ direct
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 2

    add in/ deck command/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop/deck A/ set value to 1"
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 2

    add in/ deck common/loop/loop active on
    learn the same first button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A/ set the value to 1
    set it as a button / direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 0

    add in/global/send monitor state
    learn the same button
    tick the invert option

    Check now if setting a 2 beats loop works, on and off.

    (out commands)

    add out/deck common/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition: is in active loop/deck A/set the value to 0
    assignment deck A
    untick the blend option.
    duplicate that command 10 times so you have 11 (out) commands.
    learn the button for all those out commands.
    now in the following order of the command add those specifications both for led options, and modifier conditions (MC) "is in active loop" for deck A

    0-0/21-21 (green when 1/32) mc=1
    1-1/21-21 (green when 1/16) mc=1
    2-2/21-21 (green when 1/8) mc=1
    3-3/21-21 (green when 1/4) mc=1
    4-4/21-21 (green when 1/2) mc=1
    5-5/21-21 (green when 1) mc=1
    6-6/5-5 (red when 2) mc=1
    7-7/21-21 (green when 4) mc=1
    8-8/21-21 (green when 8) mc=1
    9-9/21-21 (green when 16) mc=1
    10-10/21-21 (green when 32) mc=1

    Create a new the output command deck common/loop/loop active on
    Learn the button
    Modifier condition is "is in active loop", deck A , =0
    Set the led options to controller range 0-0 and midi range 21-21

    Check "physically " by using your button on/off if it works and if the led behavior is correct.
    Now to be sure, using your mouse, set loops on and off for different values. if everything is correct your button should be green all the time apart when it's an active 2 beat loop where it should be red (whether it has been activated either by using the button or mouse in the software).

    ---

    Now we're going to do the same for your second button (4 beats loop). Please note that if you're comfortable enough you can just duplicate all the above commands and make the necessary adjustements. Howver I personnaly think here in this case it can be quickly confusing and opens room for mistake so I prefer to do it again fully.

    Second button

    (in commands)

    add in/deck command/loop/loop size select + set
    learn the second button you'll use for a 4 beat loop
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A / set the value to 0
    set it as a button/ direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 4

    add in/ deck command/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop/deck A/ set value to 1"
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 4


    add in/ deck common/loop/loop active on
    learn the same second button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A/ set the value to 1
    set it as a button / direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 0

    add in/global/send monitor state
    learn the same button
    tick the invert option

    Check now if setting a 4 beats loop works, on and off.

    (out commands)

    add out/deck common/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition: is in active loop/deck A/set the value to 0
    assignment deck A
    untick the blend option.
    duplicate that command 10 times so you have 11 (out) commands.
    learn the second button for all those out commands.
    now in the following order of the command add those specifications both for led options, and modifier conditions (mc) "is in active loop" for deck A

    0-0/21-21 (green when 1/32) mc=1
    1-1/21-21 (green when 1/16) mc=1
    2-2/21-21 (green when 1/8) mc=1
    3-3/21-21 (green when 1/4) mc=1
    4-4/21-21 (green when 1/2) mc=1
    5-5/21-21 (green when 1) mc=1
    6-6/21-21 (green when 2) mc=1
    7-7/5-5 (red when 4) mc=1
    8-8/21-21 (green when 8) mc=1
    9-9/21-21 (green when 16) mc=1
    10-10/21-21 (green when 32) mc=1

    Create a new the output command deck common/loop/loop active on
    Learn the button
    Modifier condition is "is in active loop", deck A , =0
    Set the led options to controller range 0-0 and midi range 21-21




    Where am I wrong here?
    The apc's buttons uses cc1 and notes.
    If I understood the led ranges are: 21 for green and 5 for red.


    Thanks in advance for any help.
    Last edited by Yul; 01-12-2018 at 06:24 AM.
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  2. #2
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,148

    Default

    Can you please attach the TSI containing those loop buttons only? Color Ranges seems to be identical to Midifighter 64 so maybe I can remap it and test real easy.

    To troubleshoot, I'd set a modifier to toggle values for each button and map LED using modifier outputs. Just to be sure if hardware fails or maybe a mapping issue.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,163

    Default

    Fooking hell, why I don't succeed to upload the file, tried with two different browsers, either tsi or zip file, that doesn't work?? I feel dumb. I don't get it.
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  4. #4
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,148

    Default

    I usually zip the file before uploading it to Forums. And it works every time.

    Also feel free to upload it at MAPS if that's necessary.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,163

    Default

    Nope, no chance, don't get it.
    Here's the link on midimaps, thanks in advance.
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/8043
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  6. #6
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yul View Post
    Nope, no chance, don't get it.
    Here's the link on midimaps, thanks in advance.
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/8043
    Think I got it. Let me know what you find.

    Looping 2-3-8-16 with LED feedback.zip

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,163

    Default

    thanks, I'll see and give you feedback
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  8. #8
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,148

    Default

    Alright - should be good if APC uses "Note Hold" or "CC Hold" message type.
    The color code is identical since both controllers uses Ableton's color scheme.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Thank You

    Hello YUL and Stewe-

    I am the user from traktor that YUL has been helping. This is going on nearly 4 weeks now. I dont want to sound like "that guy," but come on...turning an LED on and off should NOT take this much time and effort. So, I thank you BOTH VERY MUCH for taking the time to try and help me.

    Yul is a little more in the know of whats going on. however, quite simply, all i want to do is have a button on my apc40 mk2 be green (or at this point ANY color) when a loop is NOT active. and be red (blinking would be great, but i have a feeling 4 more years of college engineering will be needed for this) when IN an active loop.

    Column 1 in grid:

    [] 2 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 4 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 8 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 16 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 32 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    Stewe- your question above about note and/or CC "HOLD" is interesting. In Traktor, when i am able to choose a "HOLD" option, it is only "HELD" while i am physically holding the button. as soon as i let it go, the function stops.

    Also- these modifiers are killing me. I am TRYING to learn their functionality but alot of the documentation seems very contradictory and some of it just plain unclear

  10. #10
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CTLASERS View Post
    Hello YUL and Stewe-

    I am the user from traktor that YUL has been helping. This is going on nearly 4 weeks now. I dont want to sound like "that guy," but come on...turning an LED on and off should NOT take this much time and effort. So, I thank you BOTH VERY MUCH for taking the time to try and help me.

    Yul is a little more in the know of whats going on. however, quite simply, all i want to do is have a button on my apc40 mk2 be green (or at this point ANY color) when a loop is NOT active. and be red (blinking would be great, but i have a feeling 4 more years of college engineering will be needed for this) when IN an active loop.

    Column 1 in grid:

    [] 2 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 4 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 8 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 16 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    [] 32 beat loop- be green when NOT in active loop. red IN active loop

    Stewe- your question above about note and/or CC "HOLD" is interesting. In Traktor, when i am able to choose a "HOLD" option, it is only "HELD" while i am physically holding the button. as soon as i let it go, the function stops.

    Also- these modifiers are killing me. I am TRYING to learn their functionality but alot of the documentation seems very contradictory and some of it just plain unclear
    Hi Ctlasers,

    Have you tried out my provided mapping already? All you need to do is press "Midi Learn" in the Controller Manager and remap it to your controller.

    For the "loop set" mappings, your buttons has to be configured as a hold type message because Traktor understands it that way. If your controller's buttons are configured to toggle type than it would take a double press the button each time you wish to set/deactivate the loop.

    Check your controller in MIDI OX (freeware) and see if the software monitor can recognize a midi event on both press and release of the button.

    Press = Note On
    Release = Note OFF

    About modifiers. What is the documentation that you find incomplete or unclear? Have you look in to DJ TechTools Youtube channel?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •