Help needed/ Traktor mapping/ Apc40mk2/ Difficulties to map leds outs for loops
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,159

    Default Help needed/ Traktor mapping/ Apc40mk2/ Difficulties to map leds outs for loops

    Hey guys,
    I'm try to help a fellow traktor user and after a bit of time on it I don't find the solution.

    On a apc40mk2, trying to map loops for 4 buttons (length values 2,4,8,16).
    The mapping for loops should be ok, but I can't make the leds to work properly.
    The intended behaviour should be as following:
    - loop active off; leds should be green
    - loop active on: the selected lenght/button should be red, all the others green.

    Could someone pinpoint me in the right direction please, there's something I obviously missed.
    Here's what I've done as an example for the two first buttons (loop 2 & 4)

    First button

    (in commands)

    add in/deck command/loop/loop size select + set
    learn the first button you'll use for a 2 beat loop
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A / set the value to 0
    set it as a button/ direct
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 2

    add in/ deck command/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop/deck A/ set value to 1"
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 2

    add in/ deck common/loop/loop active on
    learn the same first button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A/ set the value to 1
    set it as a button / direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 0

    add in/global/send monitor state
    learn the same button
    tick the invert option

    Check now if setting a 2 beats loop works, on and off.

    (out commands)

    add out/deck common/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition: is in active loop/deck A/set the value to 0
    assignment deck A
    untick the blend option.
    duplicate that command 10 times so you have 11 (out) commands.
    learn the button for all those out commands.
    now in the following order of the command add those specifications both for led options, and modifier conditions (MC) "is in active loop" for deck A

    0-0/21-21 (green when 1/32) mc=1
    1-1/21-21 (green when 1/16) mc=1
    2-2/21-21 (green when 1/8) mc=1
    3-3/21-21 (green when 1/4) mc=1
    4-4/21-21 (green when 1/2) mc=1
    5-5/21-21 (green when 1) mc=1
    6-6/5-5 (red when 2) mc=1
    7-7/21-21 (green when 4) mc=1
    8-8/21-21 (green when 8) mc=1
    9-9/21-21 (green when 16) mc=1
    10-10/21-21 (green when 32) mc=1

    Create a new the output command deck common/loop/loop active on
    Learn the button
    Modifier condition is "is in active loop", deck A , =0
    Set the led options to controller range 0-0 and midi range 21-21

    Check "physically " by using your button on/off if it works and if the led behavior is correct.
    Now to be sure, using your mouse, set loops on and off for different values. if everything is correct your button should be green all the time apart when it's an active 2 beat loop where it should be red (whether it has been activated either by using the button or mouse in the software).

    ---

    Now we're going to do the same for your second button (4 beats loop). Please note that if you're comfortable enough you can just duplicate all the above commands and make the necessary adjustements. Howver I personnaly think here in this case it can be quickly confusing and opens room for mistake so I prefer to do it again fully.

    Second button

    (in commands)

    add in/deck command/loop/loop size select + set
    learn the second button you'll use for a 4 beat loop
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A / set the value to 0
    set it as a button/ direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 4

    add in/ deck command/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop/deck A/ set value to 1"
    assignment deck A
    direct set to value 4


    add in/ deck common/loop/loop active on
    learn the same second button
    modifier condition is "is in active loop"/ deck A/ set the value to 1
    set it as a button / direct
    assignment deck A
    set to value 0

    add in/global/send monitor state
    learn the same button
    tick the invert option

    Check now if setting a 4 beats loop works, on and off.

    (out commands)

    add out/deck common/loop/loop size selector
    learn the button
    modifier condition: is in active loop/deck A/set the value to 0
    assignment deck A
    untick the blend option.
    duplicate that command 10 times so you have 11 (out) commands.
    learn the second button for all those out commands.
    now in the following order of the command add those specifications both for led options, and modifier conditions (mc) "is in active loop" for deck A

    0-0/21-21 (green when 1/32) mc=1
    1-1/21-21 (green when 1/16) mc=1
    2-2/21-21 (green when 1/8) mc=1
    3-3/21-21 (green when 1/4) mc=1
    4-4/21-21 (green when 1/2) mc=1
    5-5/21-21 (green when 1) mc=1
    6-6/21-21 (green when 2) mc=1
    7-7/5-5 (red when 4) mc=1
    8-8/21-21 (green when 8) mc=1
    9-9/21-21 (green when 16) mc=1
    10-10/21-21 (green when 32) mc=1

    Create a new the output command deck common/loop/loop active on
    Learn the button
    Modifier condition is "is in active loop", deck A , =0
    Set the led options to controller range 0-0 and midi range 21-21




    Where am I wrong here?
    The apc's buttons uses cc1 and notes.
    If I understood the led ranges are: 21 for green and 5 for red.


    Thanks in advance for any help.
    Last edited by Yul; 01-12-2018 at 06:24 AM.
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  2. #2
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,984

    Default

    Can you please attach the TSI containing those loop buttons only? Color Ranges seems to be identical to Midifighter 64 so maybe I can remap it and test real easy.

    To troubleshoot, I'd set a modifier to toggle values for each button and map LED using modifier outputs. Just to be sure if hardware fails or maybe a mapping issue.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    Fooking hell, why I don't succeed to upload the file, tried with two different browsers, either tsi or zip file, that doesn't work?? I feel dumb. I don't get it.
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  4. #4
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,984

    Default

    I usually zip the file before uploading it to Forums. And it works every time.

    Also feel free to upload it at MAPS if that's necessary.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    Nope, no chance, don't get it.
    Here's the link on midimaps, thanks in advance.
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/8043
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  6. #6
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yul View Post
    Nope, no chance, don't get it.
    Here's the link on midimaps, thanks in advance.
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/8043
    Think I got it. Let me know what you find.

    Looping 2-3-8-16 with LED feedback.zip

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    thanks, I'll see and give you feedback
    Latest mix

    There’s also an almost hermetic community that exists in many areas of dance music, where serious hobbyists feed off each other’s expertise but barely connect to the industry – despite many of those involved actually working in it.

  8. #8
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    6,984

    Default

    Alright - should be good if APC uses "Note Hold" or "CC Hold" message type.
    The color code is identical since both controllers uses Ableton's color scheme.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •