Does anyone else struggle with just being ad vs. being a dj/producer?

Default Does anyone else struggle with just being ad vs. being a dj/producer?

Watup!! I feel like there is an unspoken rule that tells us that its not okay anymore to just being a dj and we have to also produce. I am not even sure why lol. No ego here, I suck at producing music, I actually can't do it, thats why its frustrating owning a push 2 and messing around in ableton only to get frustrated because I could have just been practicing up on turntablism or something related to just using my turntables. I dont even really enjoy doing it, maybe because I can't.

What are you thoughts, does anyone else struggle with this?

im in your same boat. ive been mixing for about 4 years now. i absolutely love DJing. its now my biggest passion and hobby. i mix about 3 nights a week pretty consistently just for fun. i had a strong heading when i first started to get bookings for small but lit raves. but now that promoter no longer puts on shows leaving only small bass music promoters and high class club promoters leaving no place for a young tech house DJ (who doesn't produce) like myself.

lately i find myself out growing my dj gear. im dying to expand to 4 decks but i just dont have that kind of money. its also hard to support the idea of expanding my dj gear due to the lack of bookings. i want to get better but for what?

I've tried (a little bit) to produce but i always just end up making mashups for my DJ set lol i find it hard to maintain motivation. and just about every time i'll make a stupid 4/4 beat with some high hats, i think "damn i like that, i wanna DJ now"

also part of being a dj is realizing that most of the top djs on the festival circuit can't dj for shit. kids would rather see a good producer than a good dj.

Tech Convert

Default I hear ya