Starting DJ - where to begin
    Tech Student

Default Starting DJ - where to begin

Hi all - newbie here - just starting out and doing my research - have been a long time trance, house, progressive, EDM listener - favs at moment include Ruben de Ronde, Armin, Sasha, Lupe Fuentes, Roger Sanchez, Aly & Fila, Kyau & Albert, and many more - am now interested in starting to mix at home - have a PC (no Macs yet) - home Sonos system thru house with Sonos Controller + Sonos 5 speakers along with a few Sonos 1's - anyway, want to get a "starter kit" and then start to collect and mix a lot of what i am downloading from Soundcloud - am downloading sets from above artists and figured to start there with mixing - then as I get more comfortable with identifying the various tracks and cataloguing those, can begin to move to mixing my own sets...

Anyway, things I'd love advice on

1) What is best starter kit for newbie DJ at home for moment - perfer <$1K
    2) What is best practice for organizing and cataloging music - I know what I like as per beats and style but not too good with organizing individual tracks in a library to mix...that seems daunting
    3) Would like to connect to home network, PC + Sonos System to start - thoughts?

Looking forward to this thread's replies and HI to everyone!!!

TrickyD

Default Ddj rb

I highly recommend the DDJ RB from Pioneer as it comes with a full rekordbox licence, and is in my opinion the best starter package for a beginner DJ.

You don't need to spend a penny.

Everything you want to be able to do can be done with the keyboard and mouse. THIS, is the BEST way to learn.

Does Sonos have a line in???