The art of being a DJ-wh3r3 do i start
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The art of being a DJ-wh3r3 do i start

Ive made up my mind and as weird as it sounds i want to be a DJ
    I just dont know where to start im 13 years old and christmas is coming up i really love dj's i just never understood how they got into it. Where do i get my turntable, the records, and so many questions more i have to ask from you guys
    Can you help a little dude out?
    I just love this music!!!!
    and that midi fighter thing is just dream to die for!

Tech Mentor

You could start out by downloading mixxx (mixxx.org) and playing around with whatever music you have on it. It's free, and of surprisingly high quality for it's price. That's how I started out, anyway.

You should also sift through google for tutorials on beatmatching, and possibly take piano lessons for a grasp of music theory that will do more help for you than you might think.
    I'm not good at things, but I like to pretend I am.
    :Project-Segfault:

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

Read. Whatever you do, read.

Buy The Art Of DJing Right, watch Scratch, watch Q-Bert's videos, go to DJTutor and get an idea of the basics.

Don't just buy or download. you need to understand what the stuff does and how it works. Then you'll be golden
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

lol its kinda funny i just got back from school dance
    and im literally watching scartch right now man i wanna be a dj so badly
    lol i was just watching the dj at the dance bleh

Tech Guru

You remind me alot of myself at that age. I started when I was 12 or so, it's something that has stuck with me for a while (I'm 25 now).