Upgrade time: sc5000 or 2000nx2? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RMJ View Post
    1x SC5000 will give you 2 decks, which could be a consideration depending on space in your home setup.
    I've brought one with the intention of doing exactly that. To be honest, using one with the dual layer feature is a bit of a nightmare. You really have to be on the ball, otherwise you end up stopping the wrong deck.

    I also find the overviews at the bottom of the display slightly confusing. These switch so the the lower slightly larger waveform is the currently selected deck. .....i'd rather this was Always deck A above & deck B below.

    I'd like a pair, but not sure I can afford a second one. So i suspect I may end up selling the one I have.
    Cheers

    IAN WILLIAMS

  2. #12
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    London UK / Spain
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thisisian View Post
    I've brought one with the intention of doing exactly that. To be honest, using one with the dual layer feature is a bit of a nightmare. You really have to be on the ball, otherwise you end up stopping the wrong deck.

    I also find the overviews at the bottom of the display slightly confusing. These switch so the the lower slightly larger waveform is the currently selected deck. .....i'd rather this was Always deck A above & deck B below.

    I'd like a pair, but not sure I can afford a second one. So i suspect I may end up selling the one I have.
    Maybe someone knows a way to put the waveforms as you want or perhaps you can write in the Denon forums and others may support it, which could lead to changes in firmware.. or maybe there's an option to do it already.

    I've never used one, but what would sound good is having both waveforms 1 above the other, and the active deck has a bigger waveform and the other one perhaps dimmed, if that makes sense? I guess you know how it already works I've only looked at reviews a while back.
    YouTube Facebook MixCloud SoundCloud Resident Advisor Twitter

    Equipment: Traktor S8, Traktor X1 (v1), NI Audio 6 plus timecode vinyl, Allen & Heath K2, Technics SL-1200 M5G, Pioneer CDJ2000, Novation Launchpad (v1), Korg Kaoss Pad KP3, Alessis DM5, m-Audio Ozone midi keyboard, USB electric guitar.

  3. #13
    Tech Mentor Stazbumpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RMJ View Post
    I've never used one, but what would sound good is having both waveforms 1 above the other, and the active deck has a bigger waveform and the other one perhaps dimmed, if that makes sense? I guess you know how it already works I've only looked at reviews a while back.
    One wave for is bigger than the other one, but they do swap places. One helpful tool is changing the deck light colour, whatever colour is round the platter is the deck you're using. When the channel fader is down it's a white light instead.
    Live rig: Denon Prime (5000M's)
    Retired: Denon x1700, Denon SC3900's, Traktor, Technics SL1200's, my vinyl
    Wish list: Some Roland Aira stuff.

  4. #14
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stazbumpa View Post
    One wave for is bigger than the other one, but they do swap places. One helpful tool is changing the deck light colour, whatever colour is round the platter is the deck you're using. When the channel fader is down it's a white light instead.
    That's basically what I'm planning whenever I get a pair. I'd love to set the colors so they look good, but it makes a lot more sense to set them to 4 obviously different colors and put stickers on my mixer that match them....so I can glance at the mixer and know which decks/layers are okay to stop. I'm pretty sure there's an automatic way to do the same thing with a Prime mixer, but I'd rather keep my 2016.

  5. #15
    Tech Mentor Stazbumpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mostapha View Post
    so I can glance at the mixer and know which decks/layers are okay to stop. I'm pretty sure there's an automatic way to do the same thing with a Prime mixer, but I'd rather keep my 2016.
    There is, whatever colour you assign to a deck layer shows up above whatever channel you've plumbed it into on the Prime mixer. I'm, helpfully, colour blind (mild protanopia) so I have Red/Yellow on the left and Blue/Green on the right. I struggle to tell the difference between the yellow and green lights but they're channels 1 & 4 on the x1800 so I don't ever get confused. Yellow/Green on the same deck would result in chaos during a mix
    Live rig: Denon Prime (5000M's)
    Retired: Denon x1700, Denon SC3900's, Traktor, Technics SL1200's, my vinyl
    Wish list: Some Roland Aira stuff.

  6. #16
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    London UK / Spain
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stazbumpa View Post
    There is, whatever colour you assign to a deck layer shows up above whatever channel you've plumbed it into on the Prime mixer. I'm, helpfully, colour blind (mild protanopia) so I have Red/Yellow on the left and Blue/Green on the right. I struggle to tell the difference between the yellow and green lights but they're channels 1 & 4 on the x1800 so I don't ever get confused. Yellow/Green on the same deck would result in chaos during a mix
    Nice! I had a flatmate who was colour blind and he explained to me how it worked, up til that point I naively thought that everything was black and white and shades of grey.
    YouTube Facebook MixCloud SoundCloud Resident Advisor Twitter

    Equipment: Traktor S8, Traktor X1 (v1), NI Audio 6 plus timecode vinyl, Allen & Heath K2, Technics SL-1200 M5G, Pioneer CDJ2000, Novation Launchpad (v1), Korg Kaoss Pad KP3, Alessis DM5, m-Audio Ozone midi keyboard, USB electric guitar.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •