CDJ800MK2's and Time code CD's is it possible to run with software?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    17

    Default CDJ800MK2's and Time code CD's is it possible to run with software?

    Hi there,

    I won't bore you with personal details.

    This jist is I have an old set up. Two vinyl decks and two CDJ800 mk2's. Ran on a DJM800 mixer.

    I've been looking into buying some timecodes with software because I'd like to run my laptop via the mixer or cdjs.

    I haven't got a clue where to begin other than a vague idea of how this works and was wondering if anyone had any expertise in this? I'm skint, probably have a 100 to spend on this project and would like to get some use out of my cdjs.

    Open to suggestions. Even selling the cdjs to maybe invest in some 1000's because i understand you can connect via usb to a laptop unless I'm mistaken.

    Excuse my ignorance here but really blind when it comes to these and have a lot of good music sat on HDD's I'd love to use.

    Thanks for reading and any subsequent help.


  2. #2
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Yes, but you'll need an audio interface with two stereo inputs and two stereo outputs, the timecode signal as a digital file, and software like Mixxx.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    17

    Default Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by astromech View Post
    Yes, but you'll need an audio interface with two stereo inputs and two stereo outputs, the timecode signal as a digital file, and software like Mixxx.

    Thanks, as simple as that. I've seen a video by Viper Frank on youtube showing this set up. But I'd read that the MK2's can be a bit temperamental with certain softwares. In some cases incompatible with the likes of - is it - Serrato?

    If it that's straightforward I could manage this. Thank you.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,729

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CBGeebies View Post
    Thanks, as simple as that. I've seen a video by Viper Frank on youtube showing this set up. But I'd read that the MK2's can be a bit temperamental with certain softwares. In some cases incompatible with the likes of - is it - Serrato?

    If it that's straightforward I could manage this. Thank you.
    You're going to struggle with the 100 budget. I would guess issues arise with stuff like key lock
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  5. #5

    Default

    CDJ 800MK2 work great with Traktor, i've used them in the past with it.

    Keep an eye on ebay for a Traktor A6 package, it comes with the A6 soundcard, full software and a pair of timecode CD's/Vinyl. they pop up all the time for 100/150

    When you have enough money in the future grab yourself an Kontrol X1 to go along side it all, makes life so much easier.
    x2 Pioneer CDJ 850K, NI Kontrol Z2, Traktor Scratch Pro, MacBook Pro

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig Willis View Post
    CDJ 800MK2 work great with Traktor, i've used them in the past with it.

    Keep an eye on ebay for a Traktor A6 package, it comes with the A6 soundcard, full software and a pair of timecode CD's/Vinyl. they pop up all the time for 100/150

    When you have enough money in the future grab yourself an Kontrol X1 to go along side it all, makes life so much easier.
    I could make more money available, it was a ball park figure so to speak. If things got more expensive it starts to look more plausible selling the 800's and putting the money towards a set of 1000's with USB connection available. I think maybe this could be the way to go. It's an option anyway.

    Thanks for the information above, lifesaver. Information regarding this stuff is a bit thin on the ground. I pretty much live on eBay so I'll keep my eyes open.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    17

    Default

    How were the cdj functions like cue, etc with Traktor?

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I found a Traktor a6 package yesterday on eBay for 160 which I'm prepared to stretch too. When the penny dropped. Why don't I just use the vinyl timecodes? That would appear to be the easiest resolution and avoids the pitfalls as you mention above with keylock. What do you think?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •